Jason O’Halloran has claimed a convincing second Bennetts British Superbike pole position of 2021 at Thruxton.

2021 British Superbike, Thruxton - Superpicks Qualifying Results
1Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha1:14.428s
2Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+0.407s
3Ryan VickersGBRRAF Kawasaki+0.720s
4Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+0.853s
5Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+0.936s
6Danny KentGBRBuildbase Suzuki+0.957s
7Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda+1.023s
8Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+1.059s
9Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha+1.115s
10Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+1.170s
11Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+1.170s
12Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+1.207s
13Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+1.229s
14Xavi ForesSPAFHO Racing BMW+1.377s
15Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+1.429s
16Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Kawasaki+1.563s
17Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+1.804s
18Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+1.810s
19Joe FrancisGBRIforce BMW1:16.259s
20Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati1:16.376s
21Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki1:16.789s
22Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK1:16.952s
23Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing Kawasaki1:17.279s
24Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK1:17.589s
25Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMW1:17.912s
26Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda Racing1:18.442s

The top two of O’Halloran and Glenn Irwin from FP3 remained the fastest riders in qualifying, while third quickest was Kawasaki rider Ryan Vickers - his best ever BSB qualifying result. 

Championship leader Christian Iddon will start the first of three races this weekend from fifth. 

Like Vickers, Buildbase Suzuki’ Danny Kent was another rider who claimed his best ever BSB qualifying finish with sixth.  

Irwin topped Q1 ahead of Xavi Fores and third in the championship, Tarran Mackenzie. The McAMS Yamaha rider will start ninth.

The big name to miss out on Q2 was Visiontrack Ducati rider and current series champion Josh Brookes who will start race one in 20th.

Free Practice Three

McAMS Yamaha rider Jason O’Halloran left it late to pip Honda Racing’ Glenn Irwin in BSB FP3 at Thruxton. 

Irwin led the majority of the session with O’Halloran a close second, however, the Australian’s time of 1:15.261s was enough to displace the Northern Irishman by a tenth of a second. 

Championship leader Christian Iddon looked on course for a tenth place finish before a late burst into the top three. 

The gap from O’Halloran and Irwin to the chasing pack was nearly seven tenths of a second in conditions much more favorable than Friday. 

Friday Free Practice

Lee Jackson topped Friday’s combined free practice times at Thruxton, while Christian Iddon and Jason O’Halloran completed top three

The opening BSB free practice session got underway in dry conditions before rain hit the 2.3 mile Thruxton circuit, meaning the riders who had completed a lap early on remained at the top of the times. 

Jackson set his best time just before the rain shower fell, while title favourites Christian Iddon and Jason O’Halloran were separated by just +0.033s in second and third. 

After a disappointing start to the season given his impressive pre-season tests, Kyle Ryde made a return to the top ten as he finished fourth quickest. 

Local man Tommy Bridewell was fifth fastest coming off his best weekend of the season at Brands Hatch. 

There was also a significant improvement in performance from SYNETIQ BMW rider Andrew Irwin who was sixth overall on day-one. 

Team-mate and championship contender Danny Buchan narrowly made his way into the top 12 with 11th place, however, Tarran Mackenzie - third in the standings - will need to go through Q1 after finishing 14th. Josh Brookes endured another tough day as he could only claim 19th spot.