Glenn Irwin took his first Bennetts British Superbike win of the 2021 season following a chaotic 23 lap race. 

2021 British Superbike, Silverstone (National) - Race Results (1)
1Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK23 Laps
2Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+0.229s
3Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+1.038s
4Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati+1.272s
5Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+1.810s
6Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+2.906s
7Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+4.699s
8Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+5.481s
9Xavi ForesSPAFHO Racing BMW+5.742s
10Luke StaplefordGBRBuildbase Suzuki+8.501s
11Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+9.619s
12Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+9.714s
13Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda+10.911s
14Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki+1 Lap
15Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Kawasaki+1 Lap
16Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing Kawasaki+1 Lap
17Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda Racing+1 Lap
18Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMW+1 Lap
19Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS YmahaDNF
20Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS YmahaDNF
22Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing KawasakiDNF
23Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UKDNF
24Keith FarmerGBRIforce BMWDNF
25Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMWDNF
26Ryan VickersGBRRAF KawasakiDNF
27Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradDNF

The drama started immediately as Peter Hickman crashed on lap two after making contact with championship leader and pole sitter for race one Jason O’Halloran. 

It was the McAMS Yamaha rider’s team-mate Tarran Mackenzie who hit the front shortly before the incident involving O’Halloran and Hickman. 

However, that wasn’t the only rider contact during lap two, as Danny Buchan lost the front at turn three and took down Ryan Vickers. 

On lap four Keith Farmer and Takumi Takahashi also crashed out which brought out the safety car. 

Tommy Bridewell then took over at the front for most of the race before several riders came through including Mackenzie and O’Halloran late on. 

Silverstone hasn’t been a great venue when it comes to the two Yamaha riders making contact and crashing out as we saw in 2020. 

But on lap 22 of 24, it happened again as Mackenzie took the lead before suffering a big highside, which led to O’Halloran running into his team-mate’s bike and enduring a nasty looking fall. Both riders were taken to the medical centre after a red flag was brought out to end the race one lap early. 

Irwin's win sees him become the seventh different winner this season, while Christian Iddon finished second and Bridewell third.