Tarran Mackenzie recovers from a race one highside to claim Bennetts British Superbike victory in race two.

2021 British Superbike, Silverstone (National) - Race Results (2)
1Tarran MackenzieGBRMcAMS Ymaha30 Laps
2Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Ymaha+0.083s
3Josh BrookesAUSVisiontrack Ducati+0.370s
4Bradley RayGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+0.456s
5Tommy BridewellGBRMoto Rapido Ducati+1.313s
6Gine ReaGBRBuildbase Suzuki+1.469s
7Christian IddonGBRVisiontrack Ducati+5.908s
8Ryan VickersGBRRAF Kawasaki+6.330s
9Rory SkinnerGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+7.020s
10Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW+7.589s
11Lee JacksonGBRFS-3 Racing Kawasaki+8.975s
12Danny BuchanGBRSYNETIQ BMW Motorrad+10.245s
13Glenn IrwinGBRHonda Racing UK+13.762s
14Luke StaplefordGBRBuildbase Suzuki+14.033s
15Kyle RydeGBRRICH Energy OMG Racing BMW+15.584s
16Ryo MizunoJAPHonda Racing UK+16.347s
17Dan LinfootGBRTAG Racing Honda+22.010s
18Xavi ForesSPAFHO Racing BMW+22.172s
19Storm StaceyGBRTeam LKQ Kawasaki+37.589s
20Dean HarrisonGBRSilicone Racing Kawasaki+38.162s
21Bjorn EstmentSACatfoss Racing Suzuki+38.379s
22Takumi TakahashiJAPHonda Racing UK+38.549s
23Luke HopkinsGBRHopkins Honda Racing+1'10.000s
24Brian McCormackIRLFHO Racing BMWDNF
25Andrew IrwinGBRSYNETIQ BMW MotorradDNF

After their huge contact yesterday, Mackenzie and championship leader Jason O’Halloran put in stunning rides to contest victory and eventually finish 1-2. Josh Brookes claimed his first podium of the season with third. 

Race One 

Glenn Irwin took his first Bennetts British Superbike win of the 2021 season following a chaotic 23 lap race.

The drama started immediately as Peter Hickman crashed on lap two after making contact with championship leader and pole sitter for race one Jason O’Halloran. 

It was the McAMS Yamaha rider’s team-mate Tarran Mackenzie who hit the front shortly before the incident involving O’Halloran and Hickman.

However, that wasn’t the only rider contact during lap two, as Danny Buchan lost the front at turn three and took down Ryan Vickers. 

On lap four Keith Farmer and Takumi Takahashi also crashed out which brought out the safety car.

Tommy Bridewell then took over at the front for most of the race before several riders came through including Mackenzie and O’Halloran late on. 

Silverstone hasn’t been a great venue when it comes to the two Yamaha riders making contact and crashing out as we saw in 2020. 

But on lap 22 of 24, it happened again as Mackenzie took the lead before suffering a big highside, which led to O’Halloran running into his team-mate’s bike and enduring a nasty looking fall. Both riders were taken to the medical centre after a red flag was brought out to end the race one lap early. 

Irwin's win sees him become the seventh different winner this season, while Christian Iddon finished second and Bridewell third.