F1 heads to Silverstone for Round 10 of the 2022 season with the title battle tightly contested between Ferrari and Red Bull.

Carlos Sainz will start in pole position and Max Verstappen is second. Home hero Lewis Hamilton begins from fifth.

There will be a sell out crowd at Silverstone with the British fans hoping their trio of drivers - Hamilton, George Russell and Lando Norris - can perform in front of their home supporters.

Where is Silverstone?

The legendary F1 circuit is situated in Northamptonshire, built on a site formerly used by the Royal Airforce between 1943 and 1946.

The nearest Northamptonshire town of Towcester is 8.0km away from the circuit, while Brackley, where Mercedes are based, is 11km away.

Silverstone also held the first-ever F1 world championship race in 1950.

Silverstone F1 Circuit - Key info

The Silverstone Grand Prix circuit is 5.89km (3.661 miles) long and consists of 18 corners.

The lap record is 1m27.097s from Max Verstappen in 2020.

The current layout has been used since 2011.

F1 British Grand Prix - What time is it?

Sunday 3 July

3pm-5pm UK time - Race

How to watch on TV?

All sessions will be broadcast live on Sky Sports F1 in the UK, while Channel 4 will show the British GP live - the first and only race they will show live this season.

What happened in the 2021 F1 British GP?

F1 title rivals Hamilton and Verstappen finally came to blows on the opening lap of the 2021 British GP.

The pair duelled aggressively on the opening lap of the sprint race with the Dutchman ultimately coming out on top.

On grand prix Sunday, it was effectively a repeat but this time Hamilton didn’t back down on the run down to the right-hander of Copse, attempting to overtake his rival.

The pair collided with Verstappen spearing into the barrier in dramatic fashion.

After sustaining damage and picking up a 10-second time penalty, Hamilton recovered by overtaking Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc in the closing laps to win at Silverstone for a record eighth time.

Hamilton’s F1 success at the British GP

Hamilton has won the British GP on a record eight occasions, three more than Jim Clark and Alain Prost.

His finest win came in 2008, when he dominated the race in heavy wet conditions.

Hamilton showcased his incredible talent in the wet with his winning margin over BMW’s Nick Heidfeld over one-minute at the chequered flag.

It was a crucial day in the championship for Hamilton as F1 title rival Felipe Massa spun multiple times as he finished 13th, two laps down.

2020 was also a memorable victory for Hamilton as a dramatic last-lap puncture meant he had to do the final half a lap with just three tyres.

Hamilton hung onto win as Verstappen, who stopped as a precaution following Valtteri Bottas’ puncture, hunted him down.

Recent F1 British GP winners

2021 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2020 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2019 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2018 - Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)

2017 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2016 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2015 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2014 - Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

2013 - Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)