Mercedes has confirmed Markus Schafer has been appointed as the new non-executive chairman, replacing Niki Lauda in the role, as part of wider shake-up of its board of directors.

Following the passing of Lauda in May, the non-executive chairman role has been vacant with responsibilities shared between the existing board of directors.

After last week’s Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd board meeting in Stuttgart, Schafer – in charge of Daimler AG Group Research and Mercedes-Benz Cars Development – has been nominated at the new non-executive chairman. Schafer has also been a non-executive director since March.

As part of further changes, Frank Markus Weber has been named non-executive director following the departures of Ola Kallenius and Bodo Uebber.

Schafer and Weber join Britta Seeger, Rene Berger and Toto Wolff on the Mercedes board.

“The commitment of our parent company has been fundamental to the team’s success and will continue to be so in the years ahead,” Wolff said. “This support for Formula 1 has always been reflected in our team’s board, with strong representation from Daimler’s senior leadership, and it continues through the appointments of Markus and Frank Markus for the years ahead.

“Formula 1 is a powerful technology and marketing platform for Mercedes-Benz globally, and a valuable shop window for the company’s values and its competitiveness.”