Qatar has finalised a deal with F1 to host a race at the Losail International Circuit on 21 November to replace the cancelled Australian Grand Prix and complete this year’s 22-round schedule. 

The Middle East country has also signed a 10-year-deal with F1 to continue hosting grands prix in Qatar from 2023 after it holds the FIFA World Cup next year. 

F1 says discussions will continue "regarding the location for the Grand Prix from 2023 with further details to be provided at a later time." 

The inaugural Qatar Grand Prix will be the last of three consecutive race weekends following events in Mexico and Brazil as the 20th round of the 2021 F1 season. 

It will be staged as a twilight race, becoming the third race to be held under the lights this year, along with Bahrain and the new Saudi Arabian Grand Prix on 5 December. 

“We are very pleased to welcome Qatar to the Formula 1 calendar this season and for the longer term from 2023," said F1 CEO and president Stefano Domenicali. 

"The Qatar Motor & Motorcycle Federation and Authorities have been incredible and have moved at great speed to ensure the race can take place this season at the Losail Circuit, famous to many as the host of MotoGP.

"We have shown that we can continue to adapt and there is huge interest in our sport and the hope from many locations to have a Grand Prix. The huge effort from all the teams, F1 and the FIA has made it possible to deliver a 22 race calendar, something that is very impressive during a challenging year and something we can all be proud of.”

The Losail International Circuit holds an FIA Grade 1 licence required for F1 events and has featured on the MotoGP calendar since 2004. 

Qatar staged the opening two rounds of the 2021 MotoGP season earlier this year and has also regularly hosted rounds of the World Superbike and World Touring Car Championship. 

The last time a high-profile single-seater event was staged at Losail was a round of GP2 Asia in 2009. 

Revised 2021 Formula 1 Calendar
Turkish GP (Istanbul)October 10
United States GP (Austin)October 24
Mexican GP (Mexico City)November 7
Sao Paulo GP (Interlagos)November 14
Qatar GP (Losail)November 21
Saudi Arabian GP (Jeddah)December 5
Abu Dhabi GP (Yas Marina)December 12