Fans will be able to 'vote' for which three drivers will receive a 'speed boost' during FIA Formula E races as the series looks to give viewers greater involvement in the competition.

Dubbed 'FanBoost', the format gives viewers the chance to submit a vote (or votes) to the drivers competing in each race. Whichever three drivers receive the most votes, they will each get an increase in power from 133kw (180bhp) to 200kw (270bhp), with the emphasis on aiding overtaking.

Intended to give fans a greater say in the race and help their favourite drivers, people can vote via the official Formula E website (one vote) and via the soon-to-be-launched app (five votes).

The voting period opens from the end of the previous race and continues right up until the start of the nominated race, with the top three drivers announced at that time.

FanBoost is just one of several unique initiatives being incorporated into the new all-electric Formula E series, which kicks off on September 13th in Beijing, including a single race-day format, mostly city centre based races and a large entertainment package designed to supplement the racing.