Formula E returns to action this weekend, with the streets of Beijing heralding the second season of the pioneering all-electric single-seater championship.

A year after the series made its intriguing, high profile debut in China in the shadow of its former Olympic venues, Formula E returns to the same location having firmly established itself as a rung on the motorsport ladder.

For 2015/16, regulation changes have paved the way for teams to develop their own powertrain, a move that has in turn enticed Citroen to join the series under its DS brand, putting it directly head-to-head with the e.dams run Renault team.

Nelson Piquet Jr returns to defend his title, with most front runners from 2014/15 - including Sebastien Buemi and Lucas di Grassi - also back for another go. Newcomers include former F1 world champion Jacques Villeneuve, highly-rated Robin Frijns and Simona de Silvestro.

2015/16 Formula E driver line-up

Nelson Piquet Jr
Oliver Turvey

DS Virgin Racing Spark-Citroen - Virgin DSV-01
Sam Bird
Jean-Eric Vergne

Venturi Spark-Venturi - Venturi VM200-FE-01
Stephane Sarrazin
Jacques Villeneuve

Dragon Racing Spark Venturi - Venturi VM200-FE-01
Loic Duval
Jerome d'Ambrosio

Renault e.Dams Spark-Renault - Renault ZE.15
Sebastien Buemi
Nicholas Prost

Trulli FE Team Spark-Motomatica - Motomatica HT-01
Vitantonio Liuzzi
Salvador Duran

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport Spark-Abt Sportsline - ABT Schaeffler FE01
Lucas di Grassi
Daniel Abt

Mahindra Spark-Mahindra - Mahindra M2ELECTROO
Bruno Senna
Nick Heidfeld

Amlin Andretti Spark-McLaren - SRT01-e
Robin Frijns
Simona de Silvestro

Team Aguri Spark-McLaren - SRT-01e
Antonio Felix da Costa
Nathaneal Berthon