Trulli Formula E has announced it is ending its participation in the Formula E championship with immediate effect.

Former F1 star Jarno Trulli set up his team ahead of the inaugural season after taking over the entry from Drayson Racing. For the second season the team became one of the eight approved manufacturers but problems with supply and technical issues with its Motomatica JT-01 has forced the team to sit out the opening two rounds of the 2015/16 season in Beijing and Putrajaya.

The team had hoped for a belated start to its second season this weekend at the Punta del Este ePrix but the issues have proven too great and as a result Trulli Formula E has given up its entry in the series, which means 18 cars will line up on the grid on December 19th.

"After failing scrutineering in the Beijing and Putrayaja ePrix and in light of our commercial agreement with Formula E Holdings, we are forced to announce the retirement of Trulli Formula E from the FIA Formula E Championship," Francesco Test, CEO of Trulli GP, said. "As major supporters of this all electric series, we are pleased to leave space for a new OEM to enter the series and further help develop the series and electric racing technology."

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag says he's thoroughly frustrated by the decision and to lose a star name like Jarno Trulli but is confident a new team and manufacturer can now step forward and take its place.

"We are disappointed that Trulli has decided to leave the championship," Agag said. "Having a driver of the status of Jarno Trulli involved in the early days certainly helped to boost the credibility of Formula E.

"Taking the decision to become a full manufacturer was a bold one, and one that was always going to present challenges due to the technical advances that Formula E is pioneering. While we are very sad to see Trulli leave, this does create an opportunity for a new team and manufacturer to enter and we are very confident about the future strength of the series."



Loading Comments...