Formula E will continue with a 12-race calendar for its 2017/18 season after failing to find a replacement for the cancelled Montreal E-Prix in July.

Following a change in local governance, the Montreal double-header season finale planned for July 28-29 was scrapped by the city in December after just a single running.

Despite there being legal matters still to be resolved with the city after breaking its contract one year into an initial three-year deal, Formula E looked to consider replacement rounds in Europe.

A number of options were considered to take place on the June 30/July 1 weekend, two weeks between the races in Zurich and New York, and understands additional races being added to existing rounds were also under consideration.

Following the latest meeting of the Formula E board on Thursday, the decision was taken not to replace Montreal, leaving the series with a 12-race calendar for its fourth season.

"We’ve looked at a number of alternatives but decided not to replace Montreal," a Formula E spokesperson confirmed to

"Racing in city centres requires proper planning and whilst this process opened up some interesting alternatives, we’ll allow more time to look at these before including in our calendar.

"Our season finale event will be in New York and it will surely provide a spectacular backdrop to crown this year’s champion."

At 12 races, the 2017/18 calendar remains the joint longest in Formula E's history, matching the tally from Season 3.

New York will therefore play host to the Formula E season finale with a double-header round on July 14-15 in Red Hook, Brooklyn.