The FIA has announced a 13-race schedule for Formula E's fifth season in 2018/19, confirming the addition of new events in Saudi Arabia and China to the electric series' calendar.

Formula E announced last month that Riyadh would be hosting a race for the first time, acting as the season opener, but the series was known to be in talks with a number of other cities over the possibility of joining the schedule.

One of the biggest talking points was the possibility of a return to the UK with a proposed race in Birmingham. However, the city has not been listed on the calendar which was unveiled on Thursday. the longest-serving motorsport website in the world

Video Thumbnail: 

Besides Riyadh, the only other new race to be confirmed is a second event in China, albeit listed as 'TBA' on the schedule on March 23, two weeks following the Hong Kong E-Prix, which moves to a spring slot after hosting the opening race of the last two seasons.

A TBA race is also set for January 26, slotting between the returning races in Marrakesh and Mexico City, while Monaco returns to the calendar as part of its agreement to alternate with the Historic Grand Prix event. Formula E is aiming to race on the full grand prix layout in Monaco after using a shorter route in 2015 and 2017.

As it will for Season 4 next month, New York will once again host a double-header season finale in mid-July to close out the first campaign with the new 'Gen2' Formula E car and revised format.

Events not returning from Season 4 are Santiago and Punta del Este, leaving no South American rounds on the calendar for the first time in the series' history.

2018/19 FIA Formula E Approved Calendar

1. Riyadh, Saudi Arabia - December 15 2018*
2. Marrakesh, Morocco - January 12 2019
3. TBA - January 26 2019
4. Mexico City, Mexico - February 16 2019
5. Hong Kong - March 10 2019
6. TBA, China - March 23 2019
7. Rome, Italy - April 13 2019
8. Paris, France - April 27 2019
9. Monaco - May 11 2019*
10. Berlin, Germany - May 25 2019
11. Zurich, Switzerland - June 9 2019**
12. New York, USA - July 13 2019
13. New York, USA - July 13 2019

* Subject to circuit homologation
** Subject to ASN approval, circuit homologation and final approval of the city



Loading Comments...