Formula E will return to mainland China next season after announcing a new race in Sanya, set for March 23.

Formula E raced in Beijing in each of its first two seasons, with a circuit based around the 'Bird's Nest' Olympic stadium hosting the inaugural E-Prix in September 2014 before the race dropped off the calendar for Season 3.

Despite staging a race in neighbouring Hong Kong in 2016 and 2017, series officials have still been pursuing a return to mainland China, with a 'TBA' round in China listed on the calendar upon its unveiling last month. the longest-serving motorsport website in the world

Formula E announced on Tuesday that this slot would be occupied by Sanya, a tourist destination on the southern tip of Hainan Island, becoming round six of the 2018/19 season.

"Bringing the ABB FIA Formula E Championship back to Mainland China is an important step in a key territory for the series and a market that’s instrumental to the continued development and uptake of electric vehicles globally," Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said.

"Sanya is an idyllic setting for a Formula E race - not just with the stunning views on the shores of the South China Sea - but for the ongoing efforts of Hainan in the field of electric mobility, which has led to Sanya boasting the best air quality of any city in China."

Season 5 will see Formula E debut its new 'Gen2' cars, which are capable of completing the entire race on a single charge, removing the need for the current car swaps that have taken place in the series ever since its first race.

2018/19 FIA Formula E - Updated Calendar

1. Riyadh, Saudi Arabia - December 15 2018*
2. Marrakesh, Morocco - January 12 2019
3. TBA - January 26 2019
4. Mexico City, Mexico - February 16 2019
5. Hong Kong - March 10 2019
6. Sanya, China - March 23 2019
7. Rome, Italy - April 13 2019
8. Paris, France - April 27 2019
9. Monaco - May 11 2019*
10. Berlin, Germany - May 25 2019
11. Zurich, Switzerland - June 9 2019**
12. New York, USA - July 13 2019
13. New York, USA - July 13 2019

* Subject to circuit homologation
** Subject to ASN approval, circuit homologation and final approval of the city