The FIA has approved an 11-team entry list to the 2018/19 Formula E championship ahead of the start of the new season in Saudi Arabia in December.

Following the addition of Mercedes customer brand HWA to the grid for the all-electric championship’s fifth season, the grid will stand at 11 teams for the first time in Formula E history.

Other changes to four existing teams have also been approved by the FIA on the new entry list, the most significant being Nissan’s takeover of the triple-title winning Renault project.

Renault e.dams will become Nissan e.dams for Season 5, with the French DAMS team still looking after operational matters for the team.

BMW’s enhanced factory status in Formula E has also been reflected in the Andretti team’s name change, becoming BMW I Andretti Motorsport for the new campaign.

Following DS Automobile’s split with Virgin to join Techeetah as a technical partner, both teams have name tweaks. Techeetah becomes DS Techeetah, while the Virgin Racing name last seen in Formula E’s inaugural season is revived.

The new Formula E season gets underway on December 15 in Saudi Arabia, with testing taking place at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia from October 16-19.

2018/19 FIA Formula E Championship - Entry List

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler Formula E Team 
Virgin Racing
NIO Formula E Team
Nissan e.dams
Panasonic Jaguar Racing
VENTURI Formula E Team