Bern will play host to its first Formula E race in 2019 after being named as the 12th and final city on the all-electric series’ Season 5 calendar, taking the place of Zurich.

Officials in Zurich confirmed over the summer that it would not be hosting Formula E again in 2019 despite a successful first running of the event earlier this year due to clashes with other events in the city.

The capital of Switzerland, Bern, emerged as the favourite to take Zurich’s place on the calendar, with confirmation arriving on Friday following the latest World Motor Sport Council meeting in Paris.

Bern moves from the original date set for Zurich, with the race due to take place on June 22 next year.

“The calendar for season five of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship has taken shape - the most races and the best places,” Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag said.

“It’s a milestone season for Formula E with the introduction of the new car and we’ve put together a calendar to match our ambitions as a truly global sport. It’s fantastic news to return to Switzerland this coming season on the streets of Bern for the Julius Baer Swiss E-Prix.

“We collectively made history last season in Zurich - successfully hosting a professional circuit race for the first time in the country in over six decades.

“Now we’ll be making history once again by bringing the ABB FIA Formula E Championship to the Swiss capital of Bern - I’d like to extend my thanks to Mayor von Graffenried and his team.

“I’m already counting down the days to the start of the season.”

The new Formula E season gets underway in Al Diriyah, Saudi Arabia on December 15.

FIA Formula E 2018/19 Calendar

1. Al Diriyah, Saudi Arabia - December 15 2018
2. Marrakesh, Morocco - January 12 2019
3. Santiago, Chile - January 26 2019
4. Mexico City, Mexico - February 16 2019
5. Hong Kong - March 10 2019
6. Sanya, China - March 23 2019
7. Rome, Italy - April 13 2019
8. Paris, France - April 27 2019
9. Monaco - May 11 2019
10. Berlin, Germany - May 25 2019
11. Bern, Switzerland - June 22 2019
12. New York, USA - July 13 2019
13. New York, USA - July 13 2019