Pascal Wehrlein clinched his second Formula E pole in qualifying for the Paris E-Prix on Saturday after edging out Nissan's Oliver Rowland in the final stage of qualifying at Les Invalides circuit.

Mahindra's Wehrlein finished second in the initial qualifying heats before recording a fastest lap of 1m00.383s in Super Pole to beat Rowland to pole by less than two-tenths of a second.

The result sees Wehrlein become the first repeat pole-sitter in Formula E this season, ending a streak of seven different drivers taking pole through the first seven races.

Rowland will start second ahead of Nissan teammate Sebastien Buemi, with Robin Frijns lining up fourth on the grid for Envision Virgin.

2008 Formula 1 world championship runner-up Felipe Massa made it through to Super Pole for Venturi, qualifying fifth, with championship leader Jerome d'Ambrosio rounding out the top six in the second Mahindra.

Maximilian Guenther took P7 on the grid for Dragon ahead of DS Techeetah's Andre Lotterer, while Audi teammates Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi rounded out the top 10.

Home favourite and defending Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne could only qualify 14th for DS Techeetah.