Wehrlein takes Porsche's first Formula E victory in Mexico City

Porsche scored its first-ever Formula E victory as Pascal Wehrlein finished ahead of teammate Andre Lotterer in a 1-2 finish at Mexico City.
Wehrlein takes Porsche's first Formula E victory in Mexico City

Starting from pole position, Wehrlein maintained the lead into Turn 1 ahead of Venturi's Edoardo Mortara.

Initially, it looked as if Porsche was struggling for race pace as Wehrlein lost the lead to Mortara through the first attack zone phases.

The two Porsches were then demoted by Jean-Eric Vergne as both Wehrlein and Lotterer struggled for race pace.

The second half of the E-Prix was a different story with Porsche saving more energy than its rivals, allowing both of its drivers to overtake Vergne and then Mortara, who had built up a two-second lead at the front.

As the laps ticked down, Lotterer remained by his teammate with more energy available, but the experienced German didn't risk an overtake to ensure Porsche took its first Formula E victory.

It's redemption for Wehrlein after he was overtaken by Lucas di Grassi on the run to the finish line a couple of years ago.

The end of the race proved to be chaotic given the sheer pace of the Porsche duo.

Wehrlein crossed the start-finish line with just one second to go meaning there was an additional lap of the race.

This caused havoc further down the field as the Jaguars particularly didn't conserve enough energy and dropped out of the points.

The Porsche pairing was joined by Vergne on the podium, who fought back with teammate Antonio Felix da Costa to secure a 3-4 for Techeetah. 

Mortara could only manage fifth in the end ahead of Mercedes' Nyck de Vries and Robin Frijns, who was running in third until the closing laps.

Venturi's Lucas di Grassi had incidents with Maximilian Guenther and Nick Cassidy on his way to eighth.

Sebastien Buemi and Guenther rounded out the points for Nissan.

In terms of the championship, Mortara leads de Vries by six points after three rounds.

Click here for the full Formula E race results from the Mexico City E-Prix

Read More