Rain fell ahead of qualifying at the ExCeL London exhibition centre which hosts this weekend’s London E-Prix. With half of the track inside, it was a unique qualifying session in the capital.

With the rain a significant factor, Lynn - who was in group three - made the most of the drying track to progress into Superpole. Dennis and Andre Lotterer also progressed into the pole position shootout from group three. 

Sebastien Buemi, Sergio Sette Camara and Norman Nato progressed into Superpole from group four. Lynn eclipsed Dennis by nearly 0.3s with Lotterer the last driver to set a lap having topped group qualifying.

The Porsche driver could only manage fifth, ensuring Lynn claimed his first pole since New York in 2019. Lynn will be joined by Dennis on the front row, with Buemi and Camara just behind.

Lotterer and Nato completed the top six as the Venturi driver progressed into Superpole for the third time in 2021. Lucas di Grassi narrowly missed out on a spot in the top six but will be confident going into this afternoon’s E-Prix given that Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler tends to perform better in race trim.

Alexander Sims made it two Mahindras in the top eight ahead of Nyck de Vries in the lead Mercedes, while group four participant Joel Eriksson enjoyed his best qualifying to date with tenth on the grid. Mitch Evans will start 11th in the lead Jaguar car, ahead of Pascal Wehrlein and Rene Rast.

Stoffel Vandoorne couldn’t make the most of the drying track in group three after his shunt in practice put him on the back foot going into qualifying. The Belgian will start from 14th.

Tom Blomqvist was 15th ahead of Edoardo Mortara in 16th. Mortara led the way in group one but with the track drying quickly, the Venturi driver had no hope of a good starting position for the E-Prix.

Antonio Felix da Costa and Sam Bird were also in group one and will start directly behind Mortara on the grid. Next up is Nick Cassidy, Oliver Rowland, Robin Frijns and Jean-Eric Vergne.

Maximilian Gunther will start last after causing the red flag in group three when he brushed the barrier at Turn 15. As in accordance with Formula E’s rules, his best lap time was deleted for causing the stoppage.

Click here for the full FIA Formula E qualifying results from the first London E-Prix.