Di Grassi holds off Mortara to win first Berlin E-Prix

Lucas di Grassi fended off Edoardo Mortara to the line to claim his second Formula E victory of the season.
Di Grassi holds off Mortara to win first Berlin E-Prix

Di Grassi qualified third in Berlin behind the Techeetah duo of Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix da Costa.

The Brazilian maintained third off the start but immediately di Grassi looked like he had the pace at the front to take yet another victory in Formula E.

The race turned on its head during the mid-way point when Vergne and da Costa swapped positions at the front of the field. 

Techeetah’s pace worsened as the race progressed, allowing di Grassi to make his way through.

Audi’s superior race pace was demonstrated by Rene Rast’s impressive charge through the field when making the most of the attack mode, making his way up to third at one point. 

As Vergne and da Costa tumbled down the order, it was an Audi 1-2 then it was a Venturi, Mortara ahead of Norman Nato, as the lead for the race changed as drivers took their various attack modes.

When things settled down, di Grassi made the most of his own attack mode to get past Mortara at Turn 1.

Struggling with energy in the closing laps, the season three champion was forced to defend from Mortara into the final couple of corners to take the victory. 

As the top two streaked away at the front, Nato was left to defend from Mitch Evans and Jake Dennis.

Nato relinquished third to the Jaguar driver into Turn 7, but managed to resist Dennis’ threat.

Evans joined di Grassi and Mortara on the podium with Nato and Dennis rounding out the top five.

Vergne and da Costa came home in sixth and sixth, having led the way for much of the race.

Max Günther, Rast and Andre Lotterer rounded out the top ten in Berlin.

Mercedes’ Nyck de Vries remains top of the championship despite not scoring points in Germany - he holds a three-point lead over Mortara with one round to go.

Click here for the full race results from the first Berlin E-Prix.

Read More