Yet to win in front of a partisan home crowd, Quartararo will be looking to put that right, as will Pramac Ducati rider and fellow Frenchman Johann Zarco.

After staging its first motorcycle Grand Prix in 1969, the Bugatti circuit, most known for staging the 24h of Le Mans race, did not become a regular fixture on the MotoGP calendar until 2000. 

Le Mans has since been the home of the French Grand Prix, which is different to where WorldSBK races (Magny-Cours). 

The first premier class winner at Le Mans was 13-time world champion Giacomo Agostini, who remains the rider with the most wins across all classes (7). 

While Marc Marquez has the most Le Mans MotoGP wins of any current rider (3), it’s Ducati who have enjoyed the most recent success after winning with Danilo Petrucci (2020) and Jack Miller last season. 

Weekend schedule (UK time): 


Free Practice 1 - 08:55-09:40

Free Practice 2 - 13:10-13:55 


Free Practice 3 - 08:55-09:40

Free Practice 4 - 12:30-13:00

Qualifying 1 - 13:10-13:25

Qualifying 2 - 13:35-13:50 


Warm-up - 08:40-09:00

Race - 13:00 

How to watch the Le Mans MotoGP 

For UK viewers, all free practice sessions, qualifying, warm-up and Sunday’s race will be shown live on BT Sport 2. 

The Suzuki drama

The race will be played out amid Suzuki's plan to depart MotoGP just six races into a five-year deal.

A statement from the team read: “Suzuki Motor Corporation is in discussions with Dorna regarding the possibility of ending its participation in MotoGP at the end of 2022. 

“Unfortunately, the current economical situation and the need to concentrate its effort on the big changes that the Automotive world is facing in these years, are forcing Suzuki to shift costs and human resources to develop new technologies.

“We would like to express our deepest gratitude to our Suzuki Ecstar Team, to all those who have supported Suzuki's motorcycle racing activities for many years and to all Suzuki fans who have given us their enthusiastic support.”

Who’s the rider to beat at MotoGP Le Mans? 

Although Francesco Bagnaia took his first win of the season in Jerez and will be a good bet to build on his recent up-turn in performance, Quartararo remains the most in-form rider on the grid. 

Quartararo finished third during last year’s French Grand Prix, a performance which is still one of his best in wet conditions. 

Although Le Mans can throw up its fair share of surprises regarding the weather, this weekend is expected to be dry throughout, making Quartararo a safe bet to be in contention. Those looking to stop him will likely be Bagnaia, Aleix Espargaro, the Suzuki’s of Alex Rins and Joan Mir, while Enea Bastianini and Zarco can’t be ruled out either.  

Past winners

2021 - Jack Miller AUS Ducati 

2020 - Danilo Petrucci ITA Ducati

2019 - Marc Marquez SPA Honda 

2018 - Marc Marquez SPA Honda

2017 - Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha

2016 - Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha

2015 - Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha

2014 - Marc Marquez SPA Honda

2013 - Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 

2012 - Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha

2011 - Casey Stoner AUS Honda 

2010 - Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha

Most wins since 2000

Jorge Lorenzo – 6 wins (5 MotoGP)

Marc Marquez – 4 wins (3 MotoGP)

Dani Pedrosa – 4 wins (1 MotoGP)

Valentino Rossi – 3 wins (3 MotoGP)

Maverick Vinales – 3 wins (1 MotoGP)

Past Incidents 

Typically one of the circuits that causes the most crashes on the calendar, Le Mans has seen over 100 falls on a single weekend on several occasions. 

Whether it’s a loss of heat on the left side of the tyre for turn two, treacherous conditions, or oil being spilled onto the track like we saw in 2017 as half the Moto3 field crashed at turn five, Le Mans is a difficult circuit to get right. 

One of the biggest battles that resulted in a crash was during 2017, the same season as said Moto3 incident. 

Although there was no coming-together between both riders, Yamaha teammates Maverick Vinales and Valentino Rossi began the last lap in a fierce fight for victory. Rossi took over the lead with four laps to go, but after running wide at Garage Vert (turn 8), Vinales regained the lead. 

Desperate to regain the lead, Rossi crashed out after losing the front at turn 11.