PICS: 2012 FIM Awards

Motorcycle racers as you don't normally see them...
Stoner, Pedrosa, Lorenzo, FIM MotoGP Awards 2012, Valencia MotoGP 2012
Stoner, Pedrosa, Lorenzo, FIM MotoGP Awards 2012, Valencia MotoGP 2012
© Gold and Goose

The 2012 MotoGP season was brought to an end on Sunday evening at the FIM Awards Ceremony, where among others, Jorge Lorenzo picked up his World Champion trophy at the Auditori Mar Rojo de L'Oceanogr?fic in the Ciutat de les Arts i les Ciencies.

Presenters Gavin Emmett and Lara ?lvarez were joined on stage by President of the Generalitat Valenciana Mr. Alberto Fabra, Mayoress of Valencia Ms. Rita Barber? Nolla, Dorna Sports CEO Mr. Carmelo Ezpeleta and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito, to present the numerous awards.

It was Yamaha rider Lorenzo who took centre-stage as he collected his MotoGP award, alongside Dani Pedrosa (2nd) and Casey Stoner (3rd), while Moto2 World Champion Marc M?rquez and inaugural Moto3 World Champion Sandro Cortese were also honoured.

A series of other notable achievements saw other prizes awarded, such as Top CRT rider of the year for Power Electronics Aspar's Aleix Espargar?, as well as Rookie of the Year, which went to LCR Honda MotoGP's Stefan Bradl in MotoGP, JiR Moto2's Johann Zarco in Moto2 and Estrella Galicia 0,0's Alex Rins in Moto3.

This year's Rookie of the year award was awarded in memory of Marco Simoncelli on behalf of the Sepang International Circuit.

The BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class was awarded to Lorenzo, and the Tissot Pole of Poles went to Lorenzo, Pol Espargar? in Moto2 and Cortese in Moto3.

Malaysia's Sepang International Circuit was awarded Best Grand Prix organization of 2012, Repsol Honda Team the Best MotoGP Team, whilst across the three classes the Constructor Titles went to Honda in MotoGP, Suter in Moto2, and KTM in Moto3.

The Michel Metraux Trophy was awarded to Pol Espargar? in Moto2 and Alex Rins in Moto3, whilst the Shoya Tomizawa Fair Play Award went to the Espargar? brothers Pol and Aleix.

Future talent was also honoured as the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup top three picked up their trophies with champion Florian Alt leading the way.

See below for further pictures...

Read More