The debut of the FIM Enel MotoE series is gathering momentum ahead of its maiden campaign in 2019 with a confirmed 18-bike grid having been bolstered by a Sepang International Circuit team entry.

The SIC team, set to officially announce its MotoGP rider line-up for it’s new-look satellite Yamaha squad at Silverstone, will also join the MotoE grid with a one-bike entry from next year.

The full 18-bike grid:

Teams with two MotoE entries:

Tech 3 Racing, LCR Team, Pramac Racing, Esponsorama Racing, Gresini Racing, Angel Nieto Team

Teams with a single MotoE entry:

Sepang International Circuit, Marc VDS Racing Team, Ajo Motorsport, Pons Racing, Dynavolt Intact GP, SIC58 Squadra Corse



The first MotoE test will take place on November 23-25 followed by two pre-season tests next year on March 13-15 and April 23-25. All tests will be held at Jerez. The bikes will use Dell’Orto electronics, Brembo brakes, Marchesini wheels and Öhlins suspension having been confirmed as technical partners.

The 2019 MotoE calendar will be confirmed across the San Marino MotoGP round next month at Misano followed by the full 18-rider line-up at Aragon two weeks later.

MotoE organisers held a third meeting at last week’s Austrian MotoGP round with Cup Executive Director Nicolas Goubert, Dorna Sports Managing Director Pau Serracanta, Technological Director Corrado Cecchinelli, Sporting Manager Carlos Ezpeleta and IRTA CEO Mike Trimby all present.

“Prior to Saturday’s meeting during which we shared, among other things, information about winter testing,” Goubert said. “We had our test session with Energica working on the 2019 race bike on the seventh MotoGP track.

“Michelin Tyre testing was on the programme and everything went very well, with both Loris Capirossi and Alessandro Branetti lapping the Red Bull Ring at Moto3 pace.”

Former World Superbike champion Neil Hodgson will complete the next demonstration lap on the electric bike at the British Grand Prix at Silverstone (August 26).


Loading Comments...