Jorge Lorenzo became the latest in a long time of famous MotoGP riders to wear Repsol Honda colours as he joined reigning champion Marc Marquez on stage for the team's 2019 launch in Madrid.

Unsurprisingly there are no major changes to the Repsol livery for its 25th season with Honda, barring the #99 in place of Dani Pedrosa's #26.

Marquez (7) and Lorenzo (5) boast twelve world championships across three grand prix classes, eight of which are in MotoGP.

Lorenzo was world champion for Yamaha in 2010, 2012, and 2015, before taking three race wins for Ducati last season.

A victory for Honda – where he replaces Dani Pedrosa - would make Lorenzo only the fifth rider in history to win premier-class races with three different manufacturers after Mike Hailwood, Randy Mamola, Eddie Lawson and Loris Capirossi.

Marquez has won five of the six titles since joining the premier-class with Repsol Honda in 2013, putting him equal with Honda legend Mick Doohan.

Only Valentino Rossi (seven) and Giacomo Agostini (eight) have more 'MotoGP' titles than Marquez who, like Lorenzo, has a two-deal deal with Repsol Honda.

However, both Marquez and Lorenzo are currently recovering from surgery.

Marquez required a left shoulder operation in early December following multiple dislocations, while Lorenzo went under the knife on Monday after suffering a fractured scaphoid bone in his left wrist during a training accident.

And while Marquez is on target for a track return when 2019 testing begins at Sepang on February 6-8, Lorenzo will miss the opening test and aim to return for the final test in Qatar.

A replay of the launch can be seen below (fast forward to the 40-minute mark):




The Repsol Honda team has claimed 14 titles, 168 race wins and 427 podiums in 500cc/MotoGP since 1995.

Mick Doohan, who claimed four of his five 500cc titles in Repsol colours, plus former team-mate adn 1999 champion Alex Criville were among the guests present at the launch.

Repsol Honda's 500cc/MotoGP champions:

1995 - Mick Doohan

1996 - Mick Doohan

1997 - Mick Doohan

1998 - Mick Doohan

1999 - Alex Criville

2002 - Valentino Rossi

2003 - Valentino Rossi

2006 - Nicky Haydn

2011 - Casey Stoner

2013 - Marc Marquez

2014 - Marc Marquez

2016 - Marc Marquez

2017 - Marc Marquez

2018 - Marc Marquez




Loading Comments...