MotoGP Portimao, Portugal - Free Practice (3) Results
1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)1'50.552s9/15322k
2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.049s7/9327k
3Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.054s8/13324k
4Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.107s12/16326k
5Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.691s9/15334k
6Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.696s11/15330k
7Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.701s5/17333k
8Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.833s4/6325k
9Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.903s8/19325k
10Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+0.959s8/16333k
11Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.015s5/15328k
12Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)+1.298s7/14328k
13Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+1.323s8/17327k
14Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.346s8/17330k
15Raul FernandezSPAKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.350s8/15323k
16Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+1.409s7/15332k
17Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+1.601s7/16327k
18Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.695s7/13320k
19Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+1.744s7/13328k
20Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+2.068s6/9328k
21Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+2.180s5/14325k
22Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+2.700s6/12323k
23Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+2.861s4/14332k
24Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+3.228s5/14326k
25Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+3.814s12/18329k

* Rookie

Official Portimao MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati 1m 38.725s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Alex Rins SPA Suzuki 1m 39.450s (2021)

Fastest Friday time:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 50.666s (wet)

Home hero Miguel Oliveira moves to the top of the timesheets as wet weather continues during Free Practice 3 in Portimao.

Despite the soaking wet conditions, Friday times were soon being beaten, allowing world champion Fabio Quartararo to break into the top ten for direct access to Qualifying 2 as Oliveira set the best lap of the weekend in the opening 15 minutes.

But there was an early scare for Friday leader Marc Marquez, who suffered his first fall since the diplopia-inducing huge Mandalika accident when he highsided on the exit of Turn 8. The subsequent impact broke the visor on Marquez's helmet.

Marquez was able to ride back, then watched most of the session from the Repsol Honda garage before returning in the final minutes.

Brother Alex, celebrating his 26th birthday today, fell moments later.

The rain intensified just before the halfway stage adding to the urgency for those now outside the top ten, such as Aleix Espargaro, Jorge Martin, Francesco Bagnaia, Alex Rins and Enea Bastianini.

Aleix Espargaro defied the downpour to snatch ninth place, pushing Aprilia team-mate Maverick Vinales to eleventh, while Brad Binder became the second rider of the day pitched into a highside, this time at turn 9.

Marco Bezzecchi suffered a similar incident in the closing five minutes, the rookie - who also highsided on Friday - pounding the gravel with his fist in frustration. However, the young Italian, watched by team boss Valentino Rossi in the pits, has already secured a Qualifying 2 place courtesy of his Friday time.

The deteriorating conditions meant the likes of Vinales, Martin, Bagnaia, Rins and Franco Morbidelli were unable to threaten the combined top ten and will be taking part in Qualifying 1. 

The weather is expected to improve this afternoon.

Riders directly to Qualifying 2 - Top 10 Combined Practice Times:
1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)
2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
3Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
4Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)
5Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)
6Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)
7Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)
8Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)
9Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Factory (RS-GP)
10Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)

After four overseas events, the European leg of the 2022 MotoGP season begins at Portimao this weekend with Gresini’s Enea Bastianini leading the world championship standings by five points over Suzuki’s Alex Rins, after victories in two of the opening rounds.

Aleix Espargaro is 11 points from the top for Aprilia, with Rins’ team-mate Joan Mir, Yamaha’s reigning MotoGP champion Fabio Quartararo and KTM’s Brad Binder completing the early top six.

2020 champion Mir, Ducati’s reigning title runner-up Francesco Bagnaia and Repsol Honda’s six-time premier-class champion Marc Marquez (who has missed two races due to diplopia) are among those still seeking a first podium of the season.

The previous Portimao MotoGP rounds, all held since November 2020, have been won by home star Miguel Oliveira (KTM), Quartararo and Bagnaia respectively.

Portimao MotoGP schedule (UK time)

Friday April 22

9am-9.45am - Moto3 Free Practice 1

9.55am-10.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 1

10.55am-11.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 1

1.15pm-1.55pm - Moto3 Free Practice 2

2.10pm-2.55pm - MotoGP Free Practice 2

3.10pm-3.50pm - Moto2 Free Practice 2


Saturday April 23

9am-9.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 3

9.55am-10.40am- MotoGP Free Practice 3

10.55am-11.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 3

12.35pm-.12.50pm - Moto3 Qualifying 1

1pm-1.15pm - Moto3 Qualifying 3

1.30pm-2pm - MotoGP Free Practice 4

2.10pm-2.25pm - MotoGP Qualifying 1

3.10pm-3.25pm - Moto2 Qualifying 1

3.35pm-3.50pm - Moto2 Qualifying 2


Sunday April 24

9.20am-9.30am - Moto3 warm-up

9.40am-10am - MotoGP warm-up

10.10am-10.20am - Moto2 warm-up

11.20am - Moto3 race

1pm - MotoGP race

2.30pm - Moto2 race




COTA: MotoGP World Championship standings
Pos RiderNatTeamPointsDiff.
1^2Enea BastianiniSPAGresini Ducati (GP21)61 
2^2Alex Rins0Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)56(-5)
3˅2Aleix Espargaro0Aprilia Racing (RS-GP)50(-11)
4^2Joan Mir0Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)46(-15)
5=Fabio Quartararo0Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)44(-17)
6˅4Brad Binder0Red Bull KTM (RC16)42(-19)
7^4Jack Miller0Ducati Lenovo (GP22)31(-30)
8=Johann Zarco0Pramac Ducati (GP22)31(-30)
9˅2Miguel Oliveira0Red Bull KTM (RC16)28(-33)
10˅1Jorge Martin0Pramac Ducati (GP22)28(-33)
11˅2Pol Espargaro0Repsol Honda (RC213V)23(-38)
12^2Francesco Bagnaia0Ducati Lenovo (GP22)23(-38)
13^2Marc Marquez0Repsol Honda (RC213V)21(-40)
14˅1Maverick Viñales0Aprilia Racing (RS-GP)19(-42)
15˅3Franco Morbidelli0Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)14(-47)
16=Takaaki Nakagami0LCR Honda (RC213V)12(-49)
17=Luca Marini0Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)10(-51)
18=Marco Bezzecchi0Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*7(-54)
19˅4Darryn Binder0WithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-55)
20^2Alex Marquez0LCR Honda (RC213V)4(-57)
21=Andrea Dovizioso0WithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)3(-58)
22=Remy Gardner0KTM Tech3 (RC16)*1(-60)