2022 Spanish MotoGP, Jerez - Free Practice (1) Results

Free Practice (1) results from the Spanish MotoGP at Jerez, round 6 of the 2022 world championship.
Joan Mir, Portuguese MotoGP race, 24 April
Joan Mir, Portuguese MotoGP race, 24 April
Spanish MotoGP, Jerez - Free Practice (1) Results
1Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1'38.194s17/18292k
2Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.025s21/21294k
3Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+0.174s20/21294k
4Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.232s18/21293k
5Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.245s14/19292k
6Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.264s14/20293k
7Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.308s19/19292k
8Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.327s12/20295k
9Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.433s17/20294k
10Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.560s20/21294k
11Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.612s12/20294k
12Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+0.672s18/18294k
13Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.704s17/19294k
14Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.713s11/19292k
15Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.785s14/20289k
16Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.797s20/20291k
17Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.839s20/20293k
18Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+0.928s22/22294k
19Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+0.988s16/20289k
20Stefan BradlGERTeam HRC (RC213V)+1.128s18/20294k
21Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.506s18/20290k
22Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+1.555s17/19290k
23Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+1.841s14/17292k
24Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+1.871s13/19291k
25Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+3.158s14/18289k

* Rookie

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 36.584s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.770s (2021)

Joan Mir leads a Suzuki one-two in opening practice for the Spanish MotoGP at Jerez, with Alex Marquez (LCR Honda), Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) and Fabio Quartararo (Monster Yamaha) completing the top five.

Riding in bright sunshine but with some moisture on track due to overnight rain, Quartararo was soon leading the timesheets, but then lost the rear of his M1 through the final corner (probably due to a damp patch) and was flicked from his M1.

The Frenchman was left in clear discomfort after being hit in a 'delicate area' but was able to joke about it after finally returning to the Monster Yamaha garage at the halfway stage.

Quartararo, tied for the world championship lead with Alex Rins after victory last Sunday in Portimao, remained on top until Pol Espargaro put Repsol Honda fastest with 18mins to go, with team-mate Marc Marquez in third.

Mir, taken out of the podium fight when Jack Miller fell last Sunday, took over as the final ten minutes began with Quartararo climbing briefly back up to second before being demoted by Aprilia's Aleix Espargaro.

Quartararo looked set to snatch the P1 back in the closing minutes but the rear of his M1 kicked out once again, this time at Turn 8. The Frenchman kept control but, much to his frustration, the lap time was ruined. The hectic end of the session continued for Quartararo when he then ran off into the gravel at Turn 5.

Having no such issues was Alex Marquez, who momentarily shot to the top in the final minute before Mir responded. Team-mate Rins saved his best for the very last lap, slotting into second by just 0.025s.

The top ten riders, Mir to Miller, were covered by 0.560s with Marc Marquez slipping down the order to eleventh.

Tech3 KTM's Raul Fernandez, ruled out of last Sunday's Portimao round due to a right-hand injury in qualifying, has also been declared unfit for Jerez.

Factory test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Lorenzo Savadori (Aprilia) are making wild-card card appearances this weekend, ahead of Monday's official test.

After third place for Aleix Espargaro in Portimao, one more podium finish for the RS-GP will mean Aprilia lose technical concessions.

Quartararo looked set for a comfortable victory at Jerez last season, only to fade from the lead with arm pump problems (for which he then underwent surgery) handing Ducati a one-two with Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia.

Franco Morbidelli completed the podium in third last year, taking what would be the final rostrum for Petronas Yamaha SRT.

Spanish MotoGP schedule – UK Time

Friday April 29

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 1

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 1

9.55-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 1

12.15-12.55pm - Moto3 Free Practice 2

1.10-1.55pm - MotoGP Free Practice 2

2.10pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Free Practice 2


Saturday April 30

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 3

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 3

9.55am-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 3

11.35am-11.50am - Moto3 Qualifying 1

12-12.15pm - Moto3 Qualifying 2

12.30-1pm - MotoGP Free Practice 4

1.10-1.25pm - MotoGP Qualifying 1

1.35-1.50pm - MotoGP Qualifying 2

2.10-2.25pm - Moto2 Qualifying 1

2.35pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Qualifying 2


Sunday May 1

8.00-8.10am - Moto3 warm-up

8.20-8.30am - Moto2 warm-up

8.40-9am - MotoGP warm-up

10am - Moto3 race

11.20am - Moto2 race

1pm - MotoGP race








Portugal: MotoGP World Championship standings
Pos RiderNatTeamPointsDiff.
1^4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)69 
2=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)69(0)
3=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)66(-3)
4˅3Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)61(-8)
5^3Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)51(-18)
6˅2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)46(-23)
7˅1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)42(-27)
8^1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)39(-30)
9˅2Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
10^2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
11^2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)31(-38)
12=Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)30(-39)
13˅3Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)28(-41)
14=Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)25(-44)
15=Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)17(-52)
16^1Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)14(-55)
17^2Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)13(-56)
18˅2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)12(-57)
19˅1Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*8(-61)
20^1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)8(-61)
21˅1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-63)
22=Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*3(-66)

Read More