World champion Marc Marquez claimed a record 13th win of the season in the Valencia season finale.

Light rain fell early in the race, shuffling the order, then returned with 13 laps to go - prompting Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Iannone to make an ill-fated pit stop to change bikes.

Suzuki was entering its first MotoGP event since 2011, courtesy of a wild-card entry for development rider Randy de Puniet, but retired with a technical issue at mid-distance.

Ducati development rider Michele Pirro was making his latest wild-card appearance while Hiroshi Aoyama gave the new Honda RC213V-RS Open class bike its race debut.

Preparations for the 2015 MotoGP season start with a post-race test at Valencia on Monday.

CLICK HERE for pictures from the grand prix...

1.Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)46m 39.627s2.Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)46m 43.143s3.Dani PedrosaESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)46m 53.667s4.Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici)46m 56.332s5.Cal CrutchlowGBRDucati Team (Desmosedici)46m 56.400s6.Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*47m 17.511s7.Aleix EspargaroESPNGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)47m 17.795s8.Stefan BradlGERLCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V)47m 21.430s9.Michele PirroITADucati Team (Desmosedici)47m 25.337s10.Scott ReddingGBRGo&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R)*47m 30.818s11.Hector BarberaESPAvintia Racing (Desmosedici)47m 36.139s12.Danilo PetrucciITAIodaRacing Project (ART)47m 36.627s13.Nicky HaydenUSADrive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R)47m 36.889s14.Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)47m 37.144s15.Hiroshi AoyamaJPNDrive M7 Aspar (RC213V-RS)47m 38.402s16.Alvaro BautistaESPGo&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V)47m 38.491s17.Karel AbrahamCZECardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R)47m 42.016s18.Alex De AngelisRSMNGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha)47m 55.422s19.Michael LavertyGBRPaul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)48m 5.936s20.Broc ParkesAUSPaul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART)*48m 16.839s21.Mike Di MeglioFRAAvintia Racing (Avintia)*1 lap22.Andrea IannoneITAPramac Racing (Desmosedici)1 lap
Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)DNF
Randy De PunietFRATeam Suzuki MotoGP (GSX-RR)DNF
Yonny HernandezCOLPramac Racing (Desmosedici)DNF

Blue Name = Factory - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
20 litres of race fuel, 5 engine changes for the season. All engines identical throughout the year within the same team (development freeze).Black Name = Factory (with concessions) - Control ECU hardware, unique manufacturer software.
Applicable to Factory entries by a manufacturer that did not achieve a dry win in 2013 (only Ducati) plus any new MotoGP manufacturers.
Same 24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and extra testing opportunities as the Open Category. Fuel to be reduced to 22 litres should Ducati achieve a race win, two second places or three (dry) podiums. If Ducati claims three wins they will also lose the softer rear tyre. All other concessions confirmed until start of single ECU era in 2016.Red Name = Open - Full control ECU system, hardware and software.
24 litres of race fuel, 12 engine changes, softer rear tyre, no engine development freeze and greater testing opportunities relative to Factory.* Rookie

Keep up to speed by following the new MotoGP Twitter account