MotoGP Australia - Full Qualifying Results

Full Qualifying results and grid line-up for the 2016 Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island, round 16 of 18.
MotoGP Australia - Full Qualifying Results

Marc Marquez commits to slicks on a drying track and is rewarded with pole position for the Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island.

Nicky Hayden is making his second MotoGP appearance of the season - this time returning to the Repsol Honda team with which he won the 2006 world championship, as a replacement for the injured Dani Pedrosa.

Hector Barbera is riding for the factory Ducati team in place of the injured Andrea Iannone for the second week in succession, with 2015 Australian SBK champion Mike Jones in-turn keeping the Avintia seat for his home race...

Qualifying 2:1.Marc MarquezESPRepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 30.189s[Lap 7/8]325km/h (Top Speed)2.Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)1m 30.981s +0.792s[8/8]327km/h3.Pol EspargaroESPMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 31.107s +0.918s[9/9]326km/h4.Aleix EspargaroESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 31.673s +1.484s[9/9]321km/h5.Jack MillerAUSEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 31.754s +1.565s[8/8]325km/h6.Danilo PetrucciITAOcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 32.420s +2.231s[8/8]322km/h7.Nicky HaydenUSARepsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 32.944s +2.755s[8/8]319km/h8.Stefan BradlGERFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 33.015s +2.826s[8/8]320km/h9.Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici GP)1m 33.090s +2.901s[4/7]330km/h10.Hector BarberaESPDucati Team (Desmosedici GP)1m 33.914s +3.725s[5/9]333km/h11.Scott ReddingGBROcto Pramac Yakhnich (Desmosedici GP15)1m 34.682s +4.493s[3/7]322km/h12.Jorge LorenzoESPMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 36.840s +6.651s[8/9]320km/h

Qualifying 1:13.Maverick Vi?alesESPTeam Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 40.744s310km/h14.Bradley SmithGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)1m 41.129s299km/h15.Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 41.368s308km/h16.Eugene LavertyIRLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 41.532s301km/h17.Yonny HernandezCOLAspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 41.766s306km/h18.Alvaro BautistaESPFactory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 41.850s297km/h19.Mike JonesAUSAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 42.261s296km/h20.Loris BazFRAAvintia Racing (Desmosedici GP14.2)1m 43.128s303km/h21.Tito RabatESPEstrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)*1m 44.096s292km/h

Blue Name = No Concessions.
7 engine changes for the season. Engines must be identical throughout season within same team (development freeze). 5 days of private testing.Black Name = Concessions.
9 engine changes. No engine development freeze. Unlimited private testing.* Rookie

Live Updates: Follow @Crash_MotoGP
Fastest practice time:Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 33.155s (FP3)

Official Phillip Island MotoGP records:Best lap: Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 27.899s (2013)Fastest race lap:Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 28.108s (2013)

By Peter McLaren

Read More