Sunday marked the start of official 2018 MotoGP testing at Sepang in Malaysia.

All 23 confirmed race riders are present, plus some test riders, while Yonny Hernandez has been called-up by Tech 3 as they continue the search to replace Jonas Folger.

Rookie Thomas Luthi is making his Marc VDS Honda debut after missing the end of the 2017 season due to injuries at October's Malaysian Moto2 race weekend.

Kohta Nozane and Katsuyuki Nakasuga are the Yamaha Test Riders listed as present, but appeared to be alternating between three bikes.

Morning rain meant it was a wet start to testing, but the track was dry enough for slicks shortly after 1pm.

Valentino Rossi was fastest on several occasions and still leading the way when he halted for the day at around 5:30pm. But a flurry of fast lap times then saw Dani Pedrosa, Andrea Dovizioso, Jorge Lorenzo, Danilo Pet rucci and Jack Miller push the Italian to sixth.

Rossi, who was using a chassis based on 2016, was one place ahead of Pedrosa's Repsol Honda team-mate and reigning world champion Marc Marquez. Testing, which began at 10am and concluded at 6pm, continues on Monday and Tuesday.

1. ^1 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 59.427s [Lap 55/56]
2. ^1 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 59.770s +0.343s [33/35]
3. ^10 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 2m 59.802s +60.375s [38/38]
4. ^6 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 2m 0.123s +0.696s [29/30]
5. ^9 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 2m 0.178s +0.751s [42/43]
6. ˅5 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 0.233s +0.806s [44/50]
7. = Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 2m 0.290s +0.863s [50/51]
8. ˅3 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 0.421s +0.994s [60/62]
9. ^3 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 0.522s +1.095s [28/38]
10. ˅1 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 0.568s +1.141s [38/39]
11. = Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)* 2m 0.627s +1.200s [61/63]
12. ^3 Takaaki Nakagami GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 2m 0.664s +1.237s [63/64]
13. ˅9 Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2m 0.714s +1.287s [55/72]
14. ^4 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 0.866s +1.439s [34/40]
15. ˅9 Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 2m 0.912s +1.485s [66/66]
16. ˅8 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 1.027s +1.600s [27/41]
17. ^2 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 1.099s +1.672s [29/39]
18. ˅1 Franco Morbidelli ESP EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 1.161s +1.734s [61/62]
19. ˅3 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 2m 1.728s +2.301s [30/40]
20. = Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 2m 1.864s +2.437s [37/58]
21. = Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 1.962s +2.535s [40/51]
22. = Yamaha Test 3 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 2.044s +2.617s [26/28]
23. ^1 Yonny Hernandez COL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 2m 2.053s +2.626s [47/47]
24. ^3 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 2.088s +2.661s [46/46]
25. ˅2 Yamaha Test 2 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 2.527s +3.100s [23/39]
26. ˅1 Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 2m 2.946s +3.519s [45/47]
27. ^1 Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 2m 3.732s +4.305s [57/58]
28. ˅2 Yamaha Test 1 JPN Yamaha Test Rider (YZR-M1) 2m 3.786s +4.359s [3/3]
29. = Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Test Rider (GP18) 2m 4.767s +5.340s [3/4]
30. = Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 2m 5.932s +6.505s [7/7]
* Rookie

˄X Rider has X higher positions than end of previous hour.
= Rider has same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider has X lower positions than end of previous hour.

Blue = Factory Team.
Red = Satellite Team.

Official Sepang MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 2m 0.606s (2015)
Fastest race lap:
Dani Pedrosa SPA Honda 1m 59.053s (2015)

Unofficial Sepang MotoGP record:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 58.867s (2015 testing)

By Peter McLaren