The final MotoGP test of the year began at Jerez on Monday morning, where most of the 2020 line-up will be spending two days on track ahead of the winter test ban.

Quickest at Valencia last week, Yamaha's Vinales was fastest by a comfortable margin for almost the entire opening day at Jerez. 

The Petronas M1 of Quartararo was once again the Spaniard's nearest rival, albeit 0.754s adrift as he tried 'prototype engine parts', with Mir edging out Suzuki team-mate Rins for third.

Marc Marquez underwent checks in the Medical Centre following a fall at the final corner, shortly after 1pm. The world champion was declared 'OK' and later returned to action, finishing as the top Honda in sixth.

Espargaro was the quickest KTM in eighth, ahead of the top Ducati of Petrucci, while Aprilia enjoyed a promising day with 12th and 13th.

The track action was briefly halted by a technical problem for Michele Pirro and then a fast accident for rookie Lecuona, who escaped serious injury. Some light rain showers also interrupted proceedings.

Moto2 champion Alex Marquez was based in the Repsol Honda pits alongside brother Marc for the first time and was top rookie on day one.

Having split from Karel Abraham over the weekend, Avintia is yet to confirm the arrival of Johann Zarco and is instead giving MotoE rider Eric Granado his MotoGP debut on a GP18.

Miguel Oliveira and Takaaki Nakagami are absent as they continue to recover from shoulder surgery, while Francesco Bagnaia remains sidelined by the wrist injury at Valencia.

KTM test rider Dani Pedrosa was due to be in action once again, but missed day one due to sickness.

Testing, which took place from 10am to 6pm, concludes on Tuesday evening...

Jerez MotoGP test times - Monday (FINAL)
1=Maverick ViñalesSPAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)1m 37.131s60/68
2=Fabio QuartararoFRAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.754s59/68
3=Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.881s34/56
4=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.958s51/69
5=Franco MorbidelliITAPetronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.986s61/75
6=Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+1.096s22/69
7=Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda (RC213V)+1.122s58/66
8=Pol EspargaroSPARed Bull KTM (RC16)+1.217s21/56
9=Danilo PetrucciITADucati Team (Desmosedici)+1.227s42/48
10=Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team (Desmosedici)+1.343s29/45
11=Jack MillerAUSPramac Ducati (Desmosedici)+1.361s30/52
12=Aleix EspargaroITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.369s32/53
13=Andrea IannoneITAAprilia Gresini (RS-GP)+1.620s42/49
14=Valentino RossiITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+1.628s59/64
15=Tito RabatSPAReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+1.972s53/53
16=Sylvain GuintoliFRASuzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR)+2.017s31/63
17=Alex MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)*+2.282s67/70
18^1Bradley SmithGBRAprilia Test Rider (RS-GP)+2.457s66/67
19˅1Michele PirroITADucati Test Rider (Desmosedici)+2.521s8/27
20=Iker LecuonaSPARed Bull KTM Tech3 (RC16)*+2.802s33/38
21=Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)*+2.849s49/67
22=Eric GranadoBRAReale Avintia (Desmosedici)+5.925s18/21

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 36.880s (2019)
Fastest race lap:
Marc Marquez SPA Honda 1m 38.051s (2019)

By Peter McLaren