Toprak Razgatlioglu blasts the Aragon World Superbike lap record to take the first pole of 2022 by just -0.006s from Alvaro Bautista.

2022 World Superbike Aragon, Spain - Superpole Results
1Toprak RazgatliogluTURPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK1:48.267s
2Alvaro BautistaSPAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.006s
3Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.209s
4Michael RinaldiITAAruba.It Racing Ducati+0.488s
5Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team WorldSBK+0.719s
6Andrea LocatelliITAPATA Yamaha with Brixx WorldSBK+0.731s
7Iker LecuonaSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.062s
8Ilya MikhalchikUKRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.180s
9Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+1.187s
10Loris BazFRABonovo Action BMW+1.202s
11Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha WorldSBK Team+1.274s
12Philipp OettlGERGoEleven Ducati+1.369s
13Xavi ViergeSPATeam HRC WorldSBK+1.388s
14Eugene LavertyIRLBonovo Action BMW+1.392s
15Roberto TamburiniITAMotoxracing Yamaha WorldSBK Team+1.462s
16Scott ReddingGBRBMW Motorrad WorldSBK Team+1.491s
17Lucas MahiasFRAPuccetti Kawasaki+1.814s
18Luca BernardiSMBarni Spark Ducati Team+1.847s
19Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha+2.831s
20Gabriele RuiuITABmax Racing+2.988s
21Christophe PonssonFRAGil Motor Sport Yamaha+3.255s
22Leandro MercadoARGMIE Honda Racing+3.422s
23Hafizh SyahrinMALMIE Honda Racing+3.745s
24Loris CressonBELPedercini Kawasaki+4.383s
25Oliver KonigCZEOrelac Racing Kawasaki+4.572s

A highly-anticipated first Superpole of the 2022 World Superbike Championship got underway with Scott Redding tucked up behind Jonathan Rea. 

The six-time world champion secured the most poles in 2021 (8), making him the perfect rider to follow. 

Like in FP3, Loris Baz started Superpole quickest after finding a breakthrough in performance overnight. 

The Bonovo Action BMW rider was soon dethroned by Toprak Razgatlioglu as the Yamaha man set an unbelievable lap. 

Razgatlioglu broke into the 1m 48s barrier with a first sub 1m 49s lap of the weekend, before Alvaro Bautista and Rea joined him by going second and third. 

On Rea’s second flying lap the Kawasaki rider looked set to challenge Razgatlioglu’s top time, however, the day-one pacesetter lost time in sector four. 

Razgatlioglu’s time of 1:48.666s was so fast that only five riders managed to get within a second of the world champion.

At the start of the second run Team HRC’s Iker Lecuona jumped up to sixth with an impressive lap, however, the pace at the front began to really heat up.  

Rea went quickest by just under two tenths before his Aragon lap record was smashed by Bautista. 

A time of 1;48.273s put him two tenths clear of Rea - also two tenths under the lap record - but it wasn’t enough as Razgatlioglu came across the line -0.006s quicker. 

A stunning level of performance from both Razgatlioglu and Bautista. 

Who’s the favourite for victory in Race 1?

Based on Friday’s performance it was Rea who looked strongest, however, Razgatlioglu’s pole time is a clear indication he’s ready to challenge for a first win at Aragon. 

Razgatlioglu, who promised to make improvements following day-one, has seemingly done so which is why the reigning world champion is our favourite to hold off Rea and Alvaro Bautista.

In order for him to do that, keeping tyre life, especially with regards to the front will be crucial for the Turkish star, something Rea has not struggled with as much so far this weekend.  

Bautista was equally as strong during qualifying, and after winning all three Aragon races in 2019, a podium is the very least we expect. 

Official Aragon WorldSBK Records 

Fastest Lap - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki 1m 48.458s. 

Most Wins - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki (8) 

2021 Aragon WorldSBK Race Winners 

Race 1 - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki

Superpole Race - Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki

Race 2 - Scott Redding GBR Ducati 

Free Practice Three round-up

FP3 began with big hitters Rea and Bautista choosing to remain in pit lane, while Baz went quickest aboard his Bonovo Action M 1000 RR. 

Baz’ time was then bettered by close to six tenths as reigning world champion Razgatlioglu went quickest on a 1:50.062s. 

Joining the Turkish sensation in the low 1m 50s was Michael Rinaldi as the Italian instead pipped his former Stock 600 rival by -0.054s. 

As the battle continued, Razgatlioglu looked set to jump back to the top courtesy of going quickest in sector three. 

However, the Pata Yamaha rider lost time in S4, thus allowing Rinaldi to remain fastest. 

Bautista, who was now out on-track, as was six-time World Superbike champion Rea, went third with just his first flying lap. 

The Spaniard’s next lap around was supremely quick as he set a time of 1:49.644s - +0.344s in front of team-mate Rinaldi. 

Despite being out on-track with the rest of the field, Rea was unable to make a hot start like in FP1 and FP2. The Kawasaki rider went seventh after the initial flurry of laps - +1.127s off Bautista. 

Ahead of Rea was Endurance World Championship rider Ilya Michalchik, as the Ukrainian made an impressive start to the first day. 

Stunning throughout pre-season, rookie Philipp Oettl then made it a Ducati 1-2-3 as he split the two factory riders. 

Not prepared to push in the slightly cooler conditions, Rea dropped down to eighth Garrett Gerloff went fifth. 

After fitting a new rear tyre Baz regained top spot, while Bautista suffered a first crash of the weekend at turn nine. It was a typical front-end washout at the corkscrew for the former MotoGP man.

Bautista was then given a black flag due to not returning to pit lane the next lap, a rule that is implemented in WorldSBK for practice, but not under race circumstances.

After looking comofortable without setting a quick lap, Rea chose to do exactly that as he went P3. 

Weekend Schedule - 2022 Aragon WorldSBK


13:00 - WorldSBK Race 1 (UK)


08:00-08:15 - WorldSBK Warm-up (UK)

10:00 - WorldSBK Superpole Race (UK) 

13:00 - WorldSBK Race 2 (UK)