The list reveals that there will be six of the new 1200cc Ducati 1098Rs on the grid this year, with single-rider entries for former factory pliot Lorenzo Lanzi (R.G.Team) and Czech Jakub Smrz (Guandalini Racing) adding to the two-rider Xerox and Sterilgarda line-ups.

28 riders are expected to contest the full world championship season, representing Italy (7), Japan (6), Spain (5), Australia (4), France (3), Turkey (1), Germany (1) and the Czech Republic (1).

Among the new faces in the WSBK paddock this season will be former MotoGP star Carlos Checa, reigning World Supersport champion Kenan Sofuoglu, reigning BSB champion Ryuichi Kiyonari, former Repsol Honda 250GP rider Shuhei Aoyama, Australian Russell Holland and Italian Ayrton Badovini.

Two big names returning to the class are former WSBK and MotoGP race winner Makoto Tamada and former BSB champion Gregorio Lavilla, who also has 12 WSBK podiums to his credit.

The opening round of the 2008 WSBK season takes place at Qatar on February 23.

The full provisional list can be seen below:

#11Troy CorserAUS Yamaha Motor Italia WSB Team (YZF R1)
#41Noriyuki HagaJPN Yamaha Motor Italia WSB Team (YZF R1)
#7Carlos ChecaESP Hannspree Ten Kate Honda (CBR1000RR)
#23Ryuichi KiyonariJPN Hannspree Ten Kate Honda (CBR1000RR)
#54Kenan SofuogluTUR Hannspree Ten Kate Honda Jr (CBR1000RR)
#21Troy BaylissAUS Ducati Xerox Team (1098R)
#84Michel FabrizioITA Ducati Xerox Team (1098R)
#76Max NeukirchnerGER Team Alstare Suzuki (GSX-R1000 K8)
#10Fonsi NietoESP Team Suzuki Alstare (GSX-R1000 K8)
#34Yukio KagayamaJPN Team Suzuki Alstare (GSX-R1000 K8)
#55R?gis LaconiFRA Kawasaki PSG-1 Corse (ZX 10R)
#100Makoto TamadaJPN Kawasaki PSG-1 Corse (ZX 10R)
#3Max Biaggi ITA Sterilgarda Go Eleven (1098R)
#111Ruben XausESP Sterilgarda Go Eleven (1098R)
#31Karl MuggeridgeAUS D.F. Racing (CBR1000RR)
#83Russell HollandAUS D.F. Racing (CBR1000RR)
#22Luca MorelliITA Alto Evolution Honda (CBR1000RR)
#88Shuhei AoyamaJPN Alto Evolution Honda (CBR1000RR)
#38Shinichi NakatomiJPN YZF Yamaha (YZF R1)
#13Vittorio IannuzzoITA Team Pedercini (ZX 10R)
#86Ayrton BadoviniITA Team Pedercini (ZX 10R)
#96Jakub SmrzCZE Guandalini Racing by Grifo's (1098R)
#77Loic NapoleoneFRA Grillini Racing Team (YZF R1)
#44Roberto RolfoITA Hannspree Honda Althea (CBR1000RR)
#36Gregorio LavillaESP Paul Bird Motorsport (CBR1000RR)
#57Lorenzo LanziITA R.G.Team (1098R)
#94David ChecaESP Yamaha France - GMT 94 (YZF R1)
#194S?bastien GimbertFRA Yamaha France - GMT 94 (YZF R1)