Michael Rinaldi takes his first victory as a Factory Ducati rider in race 1 of his home Misano World Superbike round.

The free practice leader attacked pole man Jonathan Rea for the lead at turn 1 but was swiftly rebuffed by the Kawasaki star, with Razgatlioglu then taking advantage of the duel ahead to snatch the advantage.

However, Rinaldi was leading from Rea by the end of the opening lap.

Six-time world champion Rea continued to stalk Rinaldi's Ducati until being forced to make a big Marc Marquez-style save when the front tyre slid away through Turn 1, with 12 laps to go.

Rea kept his ZX-10R upright but ran off-track and dropped to third behind Razgatlioglu, while Rinaldi was given the breathing room to escape for his second WorldSBK win after Aragon 2020.

While the Rea incident decided the podium order, Rinaldi's Ducati team-mate and double 2021 race winner Redding spent the race in a lonely fourth place ahead of the Kawasaki of countryman Alex Lowes.

Alvaro Bautista, Axel Basini, Tom Sykes, Andrea Locatelli and Michael van der Mark completed the top ten.

Chaz Davies fell from seventh place with ten laps to go.

Garrett Gerloff was forced to start from pit lane, due to 'irresponsible riding' at previous rounds, recovering to twelfth and ahead of GRT Yamaha team-mate Kohta Nozane.

Eugene Laverty was declared unfit for the remainder of Saturday after suffering a neck strain and 'functional impairment' in an FP3 accident, which saw him reach the tyre barrier at Turn 10.

The Irishman will undergo a further medical check on Sunday morning, in the hope of taking part in the remaining races.

Rea will head into Sunday with a 36-point lead over nearest rival Razgatlioglu, with Redding 41-points behind in third and Rinaldi up to fifth place (-76 points).

1Michael RinaldiITAAruba.it - Ducati21 laps
2Toprak RazgatliogluTURPata Yamaha +3.657s
3Jonathan ReaGBRKawasaki Racing Team +5.104s
4Scott ReddingGBRAruba.it - Ducati+10.247s
5Alex LowesGBRKawasaki Racing Team +13.474s
6Alvaro BautistaESPTeam HRC+14.766s
7Axel BassaniITAMotocorsa Ducati+15.587s
8Tom SykesGBRBMW Motorrad Team+16.694s
9Andrea LocatelliITAPata Yamaha +23.612s
10Michael Van Der MarkNEDBMW Motorrad Team+28.364s
11Lucas MahiasFRAKawasaki Puccetti+28.699s
12Garrett GerloffUSAGRT Yamaha Team+31.757s
13Kohta NozaneJPNGRT Yamaha Team+35.395s
14Leon HaslamGBRTeam HRC+35.603s
15Tito RabatESPBarni Ducati+38.211s
16Jonas FolgerGERBonovo MGM BMW+38.372s
17Isaac VinalesESPOrelac Kawasaki+47.72s
18Christophe PonssonFRAAlstare Yamaha+1'06.736s
19Samuele CavalieriITA Pedercini Racing+1'11.668s
20Loris CressonBEL Pedercini Racing+1'14.491s
 Chaz DaviesGBRGoEleven DucatiDNF
 Eugene LavertyIRLRC Squadra Corse BMWDNS