Dominique Aegerter has made it two World Supersport wins in a row and taken over the world championship lead at Misano race 1.

Continuing his Estoril victory momentum with pole, Aegerter rocketed to a safe holeshot ahead of Steven Odendaal, who slotted into second from sixth on the grid.

A heated battle for third between Jules Cluzel, Manuel Gonzalez and Luca Bernardi helped the leading duo remain undisturbed for much of the race, with Aegerter then putting the hammer down with 8 laps to go.

Odendaal was unable to respond to the Ten Kate Yamaha rider and instead found himself under pressure from home star Bernandi, who passed the triple 2021 race winner with 5 laps remaining.

That move also put Aegerter into the world championship lead, by three points over Odendaal.

Although he lost out on the podium battle, Cluzel at least got the better of Gonzalez after a tense fight for fourth place that included the pair trading places on the final lap.

Philipp Oettl edged out 2019 Misano winner Randy Krummenacher for sixth while, after some pre-race advice from Kenan Sofuoglu, Can Oncu made early gains from ninth to fifth before finishing a fraction behind Krummenacher.

Further back, Maria Herrera was tagged by Marc Alcoba and taken out of twelfth at the very final corner. The incident was soon under investigation, the outcome of which saw Alcoba demoted to 16th place...

1Dominique AegerterSUITen Kate Yamaha18 laps
2Luca BernardiSMRCM Yamaha+1.064s
3Steven OdendaalRSAEvan Bros. Yamaha+1.389s
4Jules CluzelFRAGMT94 Yamaha+5.040s
5Manuel GonzalezESPYamaha ParkinGo+5.071s
6Philipp OettlGERKawasaki Puccetti+10.283s
7Randy KrummenacherSUIEAB Yamaha+10.438s
8Can OncuTURKawasaki Puccetti+10.728s
9Niki TuuliFINMV Agusta Corse Clienti+11.547s
10Roberto MercandelliITATeam Rosso e Nero+14.182s
11Filippo FuligniITAD34G Racing+14.532s
12Kevin ManfrediITAAltogo Yamaha+26.375s
13Galang Hendra PratamaINATen Kate Yamaha+28.031s
14Vertti TakalaFINKallio Yamaha+29.342s
15Leonardo TacciniITAOrelac Kawasaki+31.438s
16Marc AlcobaESPYamaha MS Racing+33.331s
17Luigi MontellaITAChiodo Yamaha+37.412s
18Luca OttavianiITARM Racing+37.965s
19Stephane FrossardSUIJura Vitesse Yamaha+40.576s
20Davide StirpeITAExtreme Racing Service+40.845s
21Armando PontoneITABike e Motor Racing Team+41.632s
22Eugene McmanusIRLWRP Wepol Yamaha+1'05.227s
23Federico FuligniITAVFT Yamaha+4 Laps
 Maria HerreraESPBiblion Iberica YamahaDNF
 Michel FabrizioITAG.A.P. Motozoo PuccettiDNF
 Federico CaricasuloITAGMT94 YamahaDNF
 Raffaele De RosaITAOrelac KawasakiDNF
 Hannes SoomerESTKallio YamahaDNF
 Matteo PataccaITABike e Motor Racing TeamDNF
 Christoffer BergmanSWEWojcik YamahaDNF
 Massimo RoccoliITAPromodriver OrganizationDNF
 Shogo KawasakiJPNG.A.P. Motozoo PuccettiDNF
 Davide PizzoliITAVFT YamahaDNF