National Superstock Cup champion Peter Hickman recently attended the ACU awards ceremony where he was presented with the ACU Academy Road Racer of the Year trophy after heading a shortlist if young talent which included MRO GP125 champion Chris Jones and Aprilia Superteen champion Kev Coglan.

Peter rode for Hawk Kawasaki in 2004 but has since split with the team who are to concentrate on winning the 2005 British Superbike Championship.

Peter is to ride for a new team run by his 2004 sponsors Astro Van Centre of Brownhills and will be joined by teammate Paul Veasey.

The new Astro Racing team will be managed by Stuart Tromans (team owner) with Peter contesting the full National Superstock championship while Veasey will ride in the Superstock Cup series.