The 50th anniversary Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship campaign will include a return to Silverstone as one of its ten rounds, according to the provisional calendar issued by organisers today.

Not only will 'the home of British motorsport' return to the schedule, however, but Brands Hatch's full-length Grand Prix circuit has been pencilled in to stage the season finale. And Silverstone's return will not mean the demise of Rockingham, after one Northamptonshire circuit replaced the other in 2007, after the latter was also included.

The full calendar will again take the series the length and nearly breadth of the country - there are no Welsh or Irish rounds, as expected - with old favourites Donington Park, Thruxton, Croft, Snetterton, Knockhill and Oulton Park joining Brands, Silverstone and Rockingham.

"As Britain's premier race series, it is hugely important that the BTCC is made as accessible for as many people as possible throughout the country," BTCC series director Alan Gow commented, "This is also of major importance to the many teams, drivers and sponsors who are part of the grid.

"I am delighted that Silverstone is able to return, and also that Rockingham will again be a part of our calendar following its superb event earlier this season. It means that all of the UK's top race circuits can join us in celebrating half a century of BTCC. The world-famous Brands Hatch Grand Prix track is a fitting venue for 2008's season finale, as it is steeped in history and revered as a classic circuit by every racing driver. It is also where the first BTCC champion, Jack Sears, was crowned back in 1958.

"We very much look forward to meeting the crowds in what will be a milestone season in the history of this great British championship."

The full 2008 schedule looks as follows:

March 29-30 Brands Hatch (Indy)
April 12-13 Rockingham
May 3-4 Donington Park (National)
May 17-18 Thruxton
May 31 - June 1 Croft
July 12-13 Oulton Park (Island)
July 26-27 Snetterton
August 16-17 Knockhill
August 30-31 Silverstone (National)
September 20-21 Brands Hatch (Grand Prix)

all dates remain provisional