The HiQ MSA British Touring Car Championship has revealed its entry list for the 2009 season, featuring 21 confirmed entries but some notable absentees.

Jason Plato, Mat Jackson and Tom Onslow-Cole, all of whom won races last year, currently haven't signed up for the new season although with a couple of weeks remaining before the season opener at Brands Hatch, the trio could still secure their place on the grid for the start of the season.

The entry is headed by defending champion Fabrizio Giovanardi who again spearhead the Vauxhall challenge, with Matt Neal and Andrew Jordan alongside. Team RAC and Airwaves BMW are expected to be amongst Vauxhall's biggest challengers, while Team Dynamics - now with a confirmed line-up of Gordon Shedden and David Pinkney - will also hope to challenge.

Tempus Sport and Team Aon have two cars entered but only one driver each in the shape of Harry Vaulkhard and Tom Chilton while Cartridge World Carbon Zero Racing joins the field with its SEAT Leons.

Newcomers to the field come in the shape of Jonathan Adam as he joins Airwaves, while Liam McMillian will run his own Maxtreme outfit. Martin Johnson will step up from the Clio Cup with a Vauxhall Astra Coupe run by Boulevard Team Racing. Paul O'Neill also returns to the grid with Team, while Dan Eaves is back with the Cartridge World outfit.

"Of course the current economic climate is also putting our sport through a very tough time, for everyone and at all levels. So it makes the entry of 21 cars, which is only a couple down on last years average grid size, particularly pleasing and impressive. I'm immensely proud of every entrant we have this year... there wouldn't be a single team that didn't go through a huge effort to put together their BTCC programme. In my book, that already makes them all 'winners'.

"Yet the competitiveness and professionalism of the BTCC in 2009 remain the envy of many other high profile forms of our sport. With six different marques represented, the variety on our grid is awesome. We also welcome four new teams into our paddock - among them Tempus Sport which will field the very latest specification Chevrolet Lacetti - plus big new team title sponsors such as Airwaves and also Aon with its very exciting Ford Focus project.

"Should Fabrizio Giovanardi achieve an unbroken run of three titles he will have thoroughly deserved it for the opposition is mighty - similarly if anyone stops him for they will have beaten arguably one of the very best touring car drivers the world has ever seen.

"In recent times the BTCC has proved itself as sound career choice for young drivers and I greatly look forward to seeing new talent, such as Liam MacMillan, Jonathan Adam and Andrew Jordan - who has now joined reigning champion outfit VX Racing - pushing to make a name for themselves.

"Access for our millions of fans - many of them families - will be further enhanced thanks to our tremendous TV partner ITV, and a similarly hugely enthusiastic title sponsor in HiQ. As well, our venues will continue to provide free trackside admission for children at all ten rounds on our calendar.

"Our pioneering new CO2 emissions programme is music to the ears of potential new manufacturers and teams and, in an ever 'greener' world, also important to companies assessing where next to market their brand within a major sporting environment.

"2009's BTCC will do what the championship does best - provide one of the most exciting, dramatic and unpredictable sporting spectacles anywhere in the UK while also delivering exceptional value-for-money entertainment for the public."

BTCC Entry List 2009:

1. Fabrizio GiovanardiVX RacingVauxhall Vectra M
4. Colin TurkingtonTeam RACBMW 320si I
5. Matt NealVX RacingVauxhall Vectra M
9. Adam JonesCartridge World Carbon Zero Racing SEAT Leon I
10. Tom ChiltonTeam AonFord Focus ST I
11. Rob CollardAirwaves BMWBMW 320si I
12. Jonathan AdamAirwaves BMWBMW 320si I
15. Martyn BellTeam Integra I B
17. Harry VaulkhardTempus SportChevrolet Lacetti I
18. TBATempus SportChevrolet Lacetti I
20. TBATeam AonFord Focus ST I
27. Liam McMillanMaxtremeSEAT Toledo I
28. Jason HughesTeam KWRMG ZS I B
29. Paul O'NeillTeam Integra I B
44. Stephen JelleyTeam RACBMW 320si I
50 John GeorgeTH Motorsport with JAGHonda Integra I B
52. Gordon SheddenTeam DynamicsHonda Civic I
55. Dave PinkneyTeam DynamicsHonda Civic I
63. Martin JohnsonBoulevard Team RacingVauxhall Astra Coupe I B
77. Andrew JordanVX RacingVauxhall Vectra M
85. Dan EavesCartridge World Carbon Zero Racing SEAT Leon I



Loading Comments...