FIA confirms entry list for F1 2012

The FIA publishes the entry list for the F1 2012 season with nine driver slots listed as TBA

The FIA has revealed the entry list for the F1 2012 season, with 15 drivers out of a possible 24 already confirmed.

Red Bull Racing, McLaren, Ferrari, Mercedes, Sauber and Caterham (formerly Team Lotus) will all field unchanged driver pairings.

Marussia (formerly Marussia Virgin Racing) will bring in Charles Pic alongside Timo Glock, as announced following the season ending Brazilian GP, while the Lotus F1 Team (formerly Lotus Renault GP or Renault) will of course run Kimi Raikkonen, who returns to the sport after spending the last two years competing in the World Rally Championship [see separate story - click here].

Raikkonen's team-mate has still to be announced, possibilities include Vitaly Petrov, Bruno Senna and Romain Grosjean.

Force India, Toro Rosso, Williams and HRT have no named drivers' on the list, although the latter has already announced Pedro de la Rosa. HRT's engine supplier is also listed as TBA.

Paul di Resta and Nico Hulkenberg are expected to make up the Force India line-up, when it is finally revealed by team boss, Vijay Mallya, while Toro Rosso is believed to be considering four drivers' - namely Sebastien Buemi, Jaime Alguersuari, Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne.

At Williams, Pastor Maldonado is thought certain to stay alongside either Adrian Sutil or GP3 champion Valtteri Bottas.

2012 F1 entry list:

1. Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing Red Bull-Renault
2. Mark WebberRed Bull RacingRed Bull-Renault

3. Jenson ButtonVodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-Mercedes
4. Lewis HamiltonVodafone McLaren MercedesMcLaren-Mercedes

5. Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari Ferrari
6. Felipe MassaScuderia Ferrari Ferrari

7. Michael SchumacherMercedes GP Petronas F1 TeamMercedes
8. Nico RosbergMercedes GP Petronas F1 TeamMercedes

9. Kimi RaikkonenLotus F1 TeamLotus-Renault
10. TBALotus F1 TeamLotus-Renault

11. TBASahara Force India F1 Team Force India-Mercedes
12. TBASahara Force India F1 Team Force India-Mercedes

14. Kamui KobayashiSauber F1 TeamSauber-Ferrari
15. Sergio PerezSauber F1 TeamSauber-Ferrari

16. TBAScuderia Toro RossoSTR-Ferrari
17. TBAScuderia Toro RossoSTR-Ferrari

18. TBAAT&T WilliamsWilliams-Renault
19. TBAAT&T WilliamsWilliams-Renault

20. Heikki KovalainenCaterham F1 TeamCaterham-Renault
21. Jarno TrulliCaterham F1 TeamCaterham-Renault


24. Timo GlockMarussia F1 TeamMarussia-Cosworth
25. Charles PicMarussia F1 TeamMarussia-Cosworth

* HRT has already announced Pedro de la Rosa, but his name is not on the entry list published by the FIA today.

Read More