A number of top motorsport stars have been honoured at the annual British Racing Drivers' Club awards ceremony.

Although a number of F1 stars secured awards, the top honour went the way of Chevrolet's World Touring Car Championship driver Rob Huff, who picked up the BRDC Gold Star for his 2011 campaign, where he just missed out on the championship crown to team-mate Yvan Muller. Huff also secured the Richard Seaman Trophy for topping the Gold Star scoring system, while the BRDC Silver Star - the national equivalent of the Gold Star - went to Jason Plato for his campaign in the BTCC.

Damon Hill's contribution to both the BRDC and to motorsport saw him awarded the Gold Medal, while there were also awards for the likes of Jenson Button, Paul di Resta, Fernando Alonso and Christian Horner from the F1 world.

Dario Franchitti's performance in lifting another IndyCar title saw him beat the F1 stars to the Graham Hill Trophy, while the Scot was also involved in one of the most poignant awards of the event when he presented Jo Wheldon - the sister-in-law of the late Dan Wheldon - with the Earl Howe Trophy for being the highest placed driver in the Indianapolis 500.

Another emotional award saw John Surtees present the Henry Surtees Award - in memory of his son - to Formula Ford race Scott Malvern.

2011 BRDC Award Winners:

Gold Star: Rob HuffFirst presented in 1929. The BRDC Gold Star is the Club's premier annual award. It recognises the strongest performance of the year by a Member in International motor sport. Points are awarded according to a set formula.

Silver Star:Jason PlatoThe domestic equivalent of the BRDC Gold Star.

Gold Medal:Damon HillThe BRDC's highest recognition of achievement in, and contribution to, the Club and the sport of motor racing.

Bruce McLaren Trophy:Rob WickensAwarded to the Commonwealth driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing.

Chris Bristow Trophy:Oliver RowlandAwarded to the winner of the BRDC McLaren AUTOSPORT Young Driver of the Year Award.

Colin Chapman Trophy:Christian HornerA BRDC Special Award presented to an individual who has shown great team spirit, be it a driver, team owner, engineer or similar.

Earl Howe Trophy:Dan WheldonAwarded to the highest placed British driver in the Indy 500 race, or to the British driver who has established the most meritorious performance of the year in North America.

ERA Club Trophy:Guy SmithAwarded to the British driver who, driving a British car, established the most meritorious performance of the year outside the UK.

Fairfield Trophy:Paul di RestaAwarded for an outstanding performance by a BRDC Member.

Graham Hill Trophy:Dario FranchittiAwarded to the British driver for the most meritorious performance in single-seater racing.

Innes Ireland Trophy:Mike ConwayAwarded to the driver who best displayed the qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomised by the late Innes Ireland.

John Cobb Trophy:Jenson ButtonAwarded to a British driver, driving a British car, who has achieved success or successes of outstanding character.

Johnny Wakefield Trophy: Fernando AlonsoAwarded to the driver setting the fastest race lap of the season on the Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit.

Nigel Moores Trophy:Greaves MotorsportAwarded to the private entrant who has established the most meritorious performance(s) in international motor racing.

Richard Seaman Trophy:Rob HuffAwarded to the winner of the Gold Star points scoring system.

Silverstone Le Mans Challenge: Marcel Fassler, Sebastien Bourdais and Simon PagenaudAwarded to the driver(s) who achieved the highest combined finishing record in combined results of the Silverstone LMS race and the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

Sir Jackie Stewart Award: Adrian NeweyAwarded to a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season.

Spencer-Charrington Trophy: Will BullerAwarded to the highest-placed British driver in the British F3 Championship.

Woolf Barnato Trophy:Tom Kimber-SmithAwarded to the highest-placed finishing British and/or Commonwealth Driver, in a British car, in the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

ACO Award:Anthony DavidsonPresented on behalf of our friends at the ACO, the award is presented to the highest-placed British driver finishing the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

Henry Surtees Award:Scott MalvernAwarded annually for the most outstanding performance by a Rising Star.