It’s a record calendar in terms of length, consisting of 23 races starting with Bahrain on March 20 and finishing at the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi on November 20.

The season is finishing earlier than in 2021 due to the FIFA World Cup which will be taking place in the winter of 2022 in Qatar.

Australia, Canada, Singapore and Japan are return after two years away due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. 

Imola keeps its spot for a third straight year, replacing Shanghai, while Turkey and Portugal miss out having featured in 2020 and 2021.

F1 will race in Miami for the first time in May ahead of the traditional European season. 

Races in Imola, Spain, Singapore and USA are subject to contract, while Miami is subject to FIA circuit homologation.

Speaking about the calendar, President and CEO of Formula 1 Stefano Domenicali said: “We are excited to announce the 2022 calendar as we prepare to enter a new era for the sport with brand new regulations and cars for next year that are designed to create closer racing.

“This season has been incredible so far with great battles on the track, large audiences tuning in and fans returning to the races after the impact of the pandemic. We look forward to welcoming more fans back next season and hope 2022 feels more normal than the life we have all experienced in the past two years.”

“We are very pleased with the interest in Formula 1 from places that want to host races and the growth of the sport and believe we have a fantastic calendar for 2022 with destinations like Miami joining famous and historic venues. The pandemic is still with us, and we will therefore continue to be vigilant and safe – to protect all our personnel and the communities we visit.”

2022 F1 Calendar in full: 

Bahrain - March 20

Saudi Arabia - March 27

Australia - April 10

Emilia Romagna - April 24

Miami -  May 8

Spain - May 22

Monaco - May 29

Azerbaijan - June 12

Canada - June 19

Britain - July 3

Austria - July 10

France - July 24

Hungary - July 31

Belgium - August 28

Netherlands - September 4

Italy - September 11

Russia - September 25

Singapore - October 2

Japan - October 9 

USA - October 23

Mexico - October 30

Brazil - November 13

Abu Dhabi - November 23