Verstappen has been nominated for World Sportsman of the Year, while Mercedes has been nominated for World Team of the Year.

The Dutchman secured the 2021 F1 drivers’ championship in dramatic fashion ahead of lewis Hamilton, while Mercedes secured an astonishing eighth consecutive constructors’ championship. 

Verstappen will go up against footballer Robert Lewandowski, tennis star Novak Djokovic as well as NFL star Tom Brady, Caeleb Dressel and Eliud Kipchoge.

Michael Schumacher won the award in 2002 and 2004, while Sebastian Vettel won it in 2014.

Lewis Hamilton shared the accolade with football star Lionel Messi in 2020.

Mercedes has been nominated for an eighth straight year having won the award in 2018.

The German manufacturer will be up against Argentina’s men’s football team, Barcelona women’s football team, China’s Olympic diving team, Italy’s men’s football team and the Milwaukee Bucks.