How the Formula 1 grid lines up for the 2021 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix at Imola, with Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton starting on pole position from Red Bull's Sergio Perez...

2021 F1 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix - STARTING GRID
1Lewis HamiltonGBRMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
2Sergio PerezMEXRed Bull Racing
3Max VerstappenNEDRed Bull Racing
4Charles LeclercMONScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
5Pierre GaslyFRAScuderia AlphaTauri Honda
6Daniel RicciardoAUSMcLaren F1 Team
7Lando NorrisGBRMcLaren F1 Team
8Valtteri BottasFINMercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team
9Esteban OconFRAAlpine F1 Team
10Lance StrollCANAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team
11Carlos SainzESPScuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow
12George RussellGBRWilliams Racing
13Sebastian VettelGERAston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team
14Nicholas LatifiCANWilliams Racing
15Fernando AlonsoESPAlpine F1 Team
16Kimi RaikkonenFINAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
17Antonio GiovinazziITAAlfa Romeo Racing Orlen
18Mick SchumacherGERUralkali Haas F1 Team
19Nikita MazepinRUSUralkali Haas F1 Team
20Yuki TsunodaJPNScuderia AlphaTauri Honda


See also: How Perez recovered to inflict a rare F1 defeat on Verstappen

Hamilton starts on pole position after edging out Red Bull duo Perez and Max Verstappen in Q3.

The battle for pole in Q3 was closer than it has been for sometime with the field spread being the closest it has been since the 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix.

Hamilton and Verstappen will start on the more durable medium compound, while Perez will start the race from the front row on the softs.

Lando Norris was on course to qualify third but had his lap deleted after exceeding track limits at Turn 9 and thus will start from seventh.

Charles Leclerc will be fourth on the grid ahead of the ever-impressive Pierre Gasly.

Valtteri Bottas endured a torrid qualifying session, struggling with the handling of the Mercedes W12, and is set to start the race from eighth.

Lance Stroll and Esteban Ocon round out the top ten.

Carlos Sainz will get free tyre choice for the start having qualified 11th in the Ferrari, while Williams enjoyed its best qualifying since Hungary last year as George Russell and Nicholas Latifi made it into Q2.

AlphaTauri's Yuki Tsunoda will start last after crashing out in Q1.

The second round of the 2021 season is set to begin at 1500 local time (1400 BST)