Lucas di Grassi has been stripped of his win in the Mexico ePrix after officials found the car he used in the first part of the race to be underweight.

The Brazilian looked to have clinched his second win of the season around the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit, a result that in turn lifted him into the lead of the overall standings.

However, post-race scrutineering revealed the Abt Achaeffler car he used in the first portion of the race was found to weight 886.2kg, 1.8kg below the permitted 888kg minimum. The Abt team is has chosen not to appeal the decision.

As a result, d'Ambrosio has been promoted to first position, the Belgian securing the second victory of his Formula E career with the Dragon Racing. Ironically, that first win - in Berlin last season - was also attained after di Grassi was disqualified from first position.

With Sebastien Buemi lifted to second place, the Swiss driver moves back into the lead of the overall standings, with di Grassi slipping 22 points adrift of the Renault e.dams driver as a result.

Elsewhere, a post-race 15secs time penalty for Loic Duval sees him swap position with Nicolas Prost, the Frenchman thus elevated from fifth to third, while his countryman retains fourth. Prost also gets two extra fastest lap points after original winner d'Ambrosio was judged to have achieved his by exceeding track limits.

Further down the order, Robin Frijns, Sam Bird, Daniel Abt, Nick Heidfeld, Stephane Sarrazin all gain a place between fifth and ninth, while Bruno Senna rises into the top ten for a point.