Jaguar has confirmed 11 cars will enter the inaugural Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race this weekend in Riyadh, marking the first time men and women have raced together in Saudi Arabia.

The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will support select rounds of the FIA Formula E Championship through the 2018/19 season, becoming the first international series for production-based electric cars.

An 11-car entry list has been confirmed for the opening race of the eTROPHY season in support of the Ad Diriyah E-Prix, including three women.

Former GP3 racer Alice Powell has been named as the driver of the Jaguar VIP car for the weekend, while Katherine Legge and Celia Martin will also be on the grid.

"I am very excited to have been given this opportunity by Jaguar to race in their VIP car in the all new Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY," Powell said.

"Electric is the way the world is going, so to have the chance to drive in this series, in the early stages of this new era, is fantastic. It's been three years since my last race, so I cannot wait to get back out there and would like to thank Jaguar for this opportunity."

Gerd Mäuser, Chairman of Jaguar Racing, said: “We are immensely proud to reach this historic moment. We had an idea that we could bring electric production car racing to city streets, and showcase the power and capability of the award-winning Jaguar I-PACE.

"This weekend that will become a reality. We have built this championship from scratch, attracting drivers, teams and sponsors from all over the world, and this is just the beginning."

Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag added: "Congratulations and good luck to Jaguar Racing this weekend as they embark on a historic first for motorsport and electrification.

"We are proud to have them on the grid in Formula E and now with a spectacular support series with the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY.

"This gives our fans an exciting addition to our one-day race format and I can’t wait to watch the action and see the first winner.”


0. Caca Bueno BRA Jaguar Brazil Racing
1. Alice Powell GBR Jaguar VIP car
3. Katherine Legge GBR Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
6. Bryan Sellers USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
7. Celia Martin FRA Viessman Jaguar eTROPHY Team Germany
8. Tao Wang CHN Team China
9. Yaqi Zhang CHI Team China
10. Sergio Jimenez BRA Jaguar Brazil Racing
12. Bandar Alesayi KSA Saudi Racing
24. Ahmed Bin Khanen KSA Saudi Racing
99. Simon Evans NZL Team Asia New Zealand