Simon Evans has made history by winning the first-ever Formula E-supporting Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY race in Saudi Arabia.

Evans, the elder brother of Jaguar Formula E driver Mitch, came out on top of a race-long, three-car battle for the lead to complete a lights-to-flag victory at the Ad Diriyah Street Circuit in the first race of the new all-electric series that will support Formula E at 10 rounds in 2018/19.

The starting grid was decided by the finishing order of Friday’s free practice session after heavy rain caused disruptions to the event schedule on Saturday morning, forcing the cancellation of qualifying.

Formula 1 returns to Zandvoort

Jaguar Team Asia New Zealand driver Evans led from start to finish, holding off Sergio Jimenez by just 0.816s seconds to claim the win, after Bryan Sellers lost out on second place to Jimenez in the closing stages but completed the podium in third for Rahal Letterman Lanigan.

Caca Bueno took fourth place in the Jaguar Brazil Racing entry while VIP car driver Alice Powell rounded out the top five, ahead of Katherine Legge, AM category winner Bandar Alesayi and Ahmed Bin-Khanen.

Team China driver Tao Wang headed teammate Yaqi Zhang in ninth, with Celia Martin 11th. Stefan Rzadzinski finished last of the 12 runners after dropping to the rear of the field following earlier contact with Bueno.