Mortara took to the top midway through the six-hour session with a 1m25.763s, a second clear of Mercedes’ Stoffel Vandoorne’s benchmark on day two of the test.

The 34-year-old ended the fifth session in Valencia just 0.041s ahead of Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne.

Vandoorne was the third and final driver to get within a tenth of Mortara’s top time, 0.098s off after setting the fastest final sector of anyone.

A late lap from Jaguar’s Mitch Evans propelled him up to fourth ahead of Porsche's Pascal Wehrlein.

Reigning Formula E champion Nyck de Vries was just under 0.2s off the pace in sixth, edging out Envision Racing duo Nick Cassidy and Robin Frijns. 

Antonio Felix da Costa and Alexander Sims rounded out the top 10 in the final classification.

Next up was Sam Bird in 11th, while Jake Dennis and Oliver Rowland set identical times in 12th and 13th respectively.

Formula E veteran Lucas di Grassi was 14th as he continues to adapt to life with Venturi, ahead of Andre Lotterer and Sebastien Buemi.

Rookie Oliver Askew ended the day 17th overall, within a second of Mortara’s top time.

Sergio Sette Câmara completed the most laps of anyone - 83 in total - despite a technical issue in the first couple of hours of the day.

Adam Carroll was in action for NIO 333, taking over from Dan Ticktum because of his Formula 2 commitments in Saudi Arabia.

Carroll was the slowest of the drivers who set times, while Antonio Giovinazzi didn’t take part in the final day of testing due to being in Jeddah for F1.

Full classification:  

Valencia Pre-Season Testing - Session 5
1Edoardo MortaraSUIROKiT Venturi Racing1m25.763s
2Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah1m25.804s
3Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m25.861s
4Mitch EvansNZLJaguar TCS Racing1m25.884s
5Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m25.895s
6Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m25.901s
7Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Racing1m25.913s
8Robin FrijnsNEDEnvision Racing1m25.918s
9Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah1m26.061s
10Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing1m26.107s
11Sam BirdGBRJaguar TCS Racing1m26.162s
12Jake DennisGBRAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m26.197s
13Oliver RowlandGBRMahindra Racing1m26.197s
14Lucas di GrassiBRAROKiT Venturi Racing1m26.256s
15Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m26.419s
16Sebastien BuemiSUINissan e.dams1m26.472s
17Oliver AskewUSAAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m26.519s
18Maximilian GüntherGERNissan e.dams1m26.765s
19Sergio Sette CâmaraBRADragon / Penske Autosport1m26.859s
20Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m26.882s
21Adam CarrollGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m28.192s
22Antonio GiovinazziITADragon / Penske AutosportNo Time Set