Lap times tumbled in the second afternoon of running at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo as Vandoorne edged out season seven runner-up Edoardo Mortara to head the order, with the Venturi racer ending up just 0.044s shy. 

Jake Dennis went fastest with an hour to go but was ultimately shuffled down to third in his Avalanche Andretti as both Vandoorne and Mortara found late improvements. 

Reigning Formula E champion Nyck de Vries was 0.114s down on his Mercedes teammate in fourth, while Pascal Wehrlein rounded out the top five for Porsche.

Next up came Jaguar’s Mitch Evans and new Venturi recruit Lucas di Grassi in sixth and seventh. 

Following his switch to Mahindra, Oliver Rowland outpaced new teammate Alexander Sims to end the second day with the eighth-quickest time. 

Andre Lotterer ensured both Porsche cars finished inside the top 10, while Avalanche Andretti’s Oliver Askew was once again the fastest of Formula E’s rookie contingent. 

The American was just 0.081s adrift of a top-10 placing as he continues to get to grips with Formula E following his switch from IndyCar. 

Antonio Giovinazzi was the next fastest rookie in 17th for Dragon-Penske as the outgoing Alfa Romeo Formula 1 driver got within a second of Vandoorne’s benchmark. 

NIO 333’s Dan Ticktum ended up 19th in the afternoon order, ahead of the Techeetah duo of Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix da Costa, who were split by Alice Powell. 

The 2021 W Series runner-up was getting some seat time in Robin Frijns’s Envision car after the Dutchman topped the opening day of running on Monday. 

Da Costa sets morning pace, de Vries wins mock race 

Da Costa set the pace in the shortened morning session, which followed a race simulation to trial the new extra time regulations for the upcoming 2022 season. 

For every minute spent behind the safety car or under a full course yellow in races next season, 45 seconds will be added to the standard race time of 45 minutes + one lap. 

De Vries ‘won’ the mock race on Tuesday morning after passing Mercedes stablemate Vandoorne with a lap to go. 

Mortara also got past Vandoorne at the end to take second, while Grassi followed the Mercedes driver home in fourth. 

2015/2016 champion Sebastien Buemi completed the top five following a late pass on Nissan teammate Maximilian Gunther. 

Jaguar pair Sam Bird and Evans both failed to get off the line at the start, but were able to reset their cars and finish the race simulation. 

Following a break from track action on Wednesday, the third and final day of testing at Valencia continues on Thursday.

Valencia Pre-Season Testing Day 2 - Morning
1Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah1m26.769s
2Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Racing1m26.776s
3Jake DennisGBRAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m26.816s
4Oliver RowlandGBRMahindra Racing1m26.849s
5Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m26.921s
6Mitch EvansNZLJaguar TCS Racing1m27.011s
7Sam BirdGBRJaguar TCS Racing1m27.138s
8Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m27.347s
9Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m27.386s
10Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing1m27.855s
11Oliver AskewUSAAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m28.203s
12Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m28.769s
13Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m28.903s
14Edoardo MortaraSUIROKiT Venturi Racing1m29.142s
15Antonio GiovinazziITADragon / Penske Autosport1m29.281s
16Lucas di GrassiBRAROKiT Venturi Racing1m29.333s
17Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah1m29.392s
18Sebastien BuemiSUINissan e.dams1m30.240s
19Sergio Sette CâmaraBRADragon / Penske Autosport1m30.319s
20Maximilian GüntherGERNissan e.dams1m30.335s
21Alice PowellGBREnvision Racing1m31.432s
22Dan TicktumGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m31.883s 


Valencia Pre-Season Testing Day 2 - Afternoon 
1Stoffel VandoorneBELMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m26.045s 
2Edoardo MortaraSUIROKiT Venturi Racing1m26.089s 
3Jake DennisGBRAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m26.100s 
4Nyck de VriesNEDMercedes-EQ Formula E Team1m26.159s 
5Pascal WehrleinGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m26.176s 
6Mitch EvansNZLJaguar TCS Racing1m26.302s 
7Lucas di GrassiBRAROKiT Venturi Racing1m26.342s
8Oliver RowlandGBRMahindra Racing1m26.363s
9Alexander SimsGBRMahindra Racing1m26.456s 
10Andre LottererGERTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team1m26.481s
11Oliver AskewUSAAvalanche Andretti Formula E1m26.562s 
12Sergio Sette CâmaraBRADragon / Penske Autosport1m26.577s 
13Sebastien BuemiSUINissan e.dams1m26.634s
14Sam BirdGBRJaguar TCS Racing1m26.673s 
15Maximilian GüntherGERNissan e.dams1m26.704s 
16Nick CassidyNZLEnvision Racing1m26.710s 
17Antonio GiovinazziITADragon / Penske Autosport1m26.894s 
18Oliver TurveyGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m27.138s 
19Dan TicktumGBRNIO 333 FE Team1m28.791s 
20Jean-Eric VergneFRADS Techeetah1m29.141s
21Alice PowellGBREnvision Racing1m29.724s
22Antonio Felix da CostaPORDS Techeetah1m30.488s