G-Drive Racing's LMP2 class-winning #26 Oreca 07 Gibson has been disqualified from the 24 Hours of Le Mans due to a technical infringement after an investigation by the stewards following the race.

Jean-Eric Vergne, Roman Rusinov and Andrea Pizzitola led all but 10 laps of the 24 hours at the Circuit de la Sarthe in LMP2, eventually finishing two laps clear of the field to take a convincing class victory.

However, following a review of the car following the race by the technical delegates, it was deemed that the team had breached the technical regulations as "an additional machined part not featuring in the drawing is inserted into the flow restrictor, changing the wetter restrictor surface described by the regulatory drawing."

Following a hearing on Monday, and despite arguments from G-Drive that the restrictor still strictly complied with the drawing, and that there was no detail in the regulations prohibiting the addition of other parts, the stewards disqualified the entry from the race.

As a result, class victory now goes to the Signatech Alpine Matmut's #36 Alpine A470 Gibson, shared by Nicolas Lapierre, Andre Negrao and Pierre Thiriet, with the Graff-SO24 #39 Oreca now moving up to second place in LMP2.

The stewards also confirmed that the #28 TDS Racing entry has been disqualified for the same infringement, handing the final podium position in class to United Autosports' #32 Ligier JS P217 Gibson shared by Juan Pablo Montoya, Will Owen and Hugo de Sadeleer.

Both G-Drive Racing and TDS Racing have been reminded of their right to appeal, with the results of the race remaining provisional.


In the wake of the stewards' ruling, Vergne has confirmed via Twitter that G-Drive does intend to appeal the decision, calling their reasoning "unfounded".