What changed during MotoGP's first-ever back-to-back races at the same (Jerez) circuit?

The answer, at least in terms of the top two riders in qualifying and the races, was not a lot: Fabio Quartararo taking both pole positions and race victories ahead of fellow Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales.

Their times in qualifying were slightly slower during the hotter second weekend, yet over a race distance both were just over 1-second faster than the week before (Vinales swapping from the soft to hard front tyre).

The most improved rider in qualifying was Tech3 KTM's Miguel Oliveira, who gained 0.620s and twelve grid places in the space of a week, with Valentino Rossi (Monster Yamaha) next best with a seven place rise and 0.399s.

Johann Zarco (Avintia Ducati), Iker Lecuona (Tech3 KTM), Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha) and Joan Mir (Suzuki) also found several tenths in their time attack.

A large number of accidents and technical issues during both races makes progress over the full 25-lap grand prix distance harder to gauge for much of the grid.

However, of those - like Quartararo and Vinales - who finished both races, the biggest jump was made by LCR's Takaaki Nakagami. The Japanese being a massive 16-seconds faster in race two, on his way to fourth place after tenth position in race one.

Next best was Repsol Honda rookie Alex Marquez, with an admirable 9-second improvement. Aprilia's Bradley Smith gained 4-seconds despite being badly held up in Sunday's turn one incident between KTM riders Brad Binder and Miguel Oliveira.

Losing ground were Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) and Pol Espargaro (KTM). Dovi lost 5-seconds compared to his own podium time in race one, while Espargaro slipped 9-seconds further back.

The tables below show a comparison for qualifying and race times, over the two consecutive Jerez events…

Qualifying Comparison - Jerez:
RiderJerez - 1PosJerez - 2Pos Time +/-Pos +/-
Oliveira1m 37.964171m 37.3445-0.620s-12
Rossi1m 37.741111m 37.3424-0.399s-7
Zarco1m 38.106201m 37.76115-0.345s-5
Lecuona1m 38.512221m 38.20617-0.306s-5
Morbidelli1m 37.674101m 37.4126-0.262s-4
Mir1m 37.784121m 37.60010-0.184s-2
A.Espargaro1m  37.940161m 37.88516-0.055s0
Miller1m 37.45351m 37.4237-0.030s+2
Nakagami1m 37.434151m 37.4648+0.030s-7
Dovizioso1m 37.53581m 37.65614+0.121s+6
Rabat1m 38.029191m 38.21118+0.182s-1
Crutchlow*1m 37.45461m 37.64413+0.190s+7
Binder1m 37.396131m 37.5969+0.200s-4
Bagnaia1m 36.95541m 37.1763+0.221s-1
Vinales1m 36.84421m 37.1022+0.258s0
Quartararo1m 36.70511m 37.0071+0.302s0
Smith1m 37.966181m 38.31019+0.344s+1
A.Marquez1m 38.256211m 38.64821+0.392s0
Petrucci1m 37.423141m 37.90611+0.483s-3
Rins*1m 37.63691m 38.60120+0.965s+11
P.Espargaro1m 37.49371m 40.27712+2.784s+5
M.Marquez1m 36.8623----

*Riding injured at second round.

Jerez Race Times  - Combined:
Rider Race TimeDiff from Top
Quartararo - Race 241m 22.666s 
Quartararo - Race 141m 23.796s+1.130s
Vinales - Race 241m 27.161s+4.495s
Rossi - Race 241m 28.212s+5.546s
Vinales - Race 141m 28.399s+5.733s
Nakagami - Race 241m 28.779s+6.113s
Dovizioso - Race 141m 29.742s+7.076s
Mir - Race 241m 30.359s+7.693s
Miller - Race 141m 30.464s+7.798s
Morbidelli - Race 141m 30.640s+7.974s
P.Espargaro - Race 141m 30.734s+8.068s
Dovizioso - Race 241m 35.220s+12.554s
Bagnaia - Race 141m 36.823s+14.157s
Oliveira - Race 141m 37.237s+14.571s
P.Espargaro - Race 241m 40.154s+17.488s
A.Marquez - Race 241m 42.023s+19.357s
Petrucci - Race 141m 43.447s+20.781s
Nakagami - Race 141m 45.349s+22.683s
Zarco - Race 241m 46.189s+23.523s
Zarco - Race 141m 48.896s+26.230s
Rins* - Race 241m 49.757s+27.091s
A.Marquez - Race 141m 51.146s+28.480s
Binder - Race 141m 53.436s+30.770s
Rabat - Race 241m 56.294s+33.628s
Rabat - Race 141m 56.694s+34.028s
Smith - Race 241m 58.972s+36.306s
Smith - Race 142m 03.478s+40.812s
Crutchlow* - Race 2+1 lap-
M.Marquez - Race 1DNF-
Lecuona - Race 1DNF-
Rossi - Race 1DNF-
A.Espargaro - Race 1DNF-
Mir - Race 1DNF-
Bagnaia - Race 2DNF-
Morbidelli - Race 2DNF-
Binder - Race 2DNF-
Petrucci - Race 2DNF-
Miller - Race 2DNF-
A.Espargaro - Race 2DNF-
Lecuona - Race 2DNF-
 Oliveira - Race 2DNF-
Crutchlow  - Race 1DNS-
Rins - Race 1DNS-
M.Marquez - Race 2DNS-

*Riding injured at second round.