Marc Marquez has won the 2010 125cc World Championship after a careful ride to fourth in Sunday's season-ending Valencia Grand Prix, which was won by Bradley Smith.

Riding in his final 125cc race before moving to Moto2 next year, Smith led from turn one to the chequered flag for his first win of the season and third of his career by 2.786sec.

Aspar Aprilia team-mate Nico Terol, who began the final round 17 points behind Marquez, spent much of the race in second position - with the Ajo Derbi of Marquez lurking just behind him.

While Smith edged away, Marquez looked ever more held-up by Terol, and the pair were caught by former title contender Pol Espargaro by mid-race distance.

Eager to keep out of trouble, Marquez pointed Espargaro through to third with nine of the 24 laps to go and the Tuenti Derbi rider also passed Terol for second with two laps to go.

Terol and Espargaro swapped second on the final lap before Espargaro secured the position, with 17-year-old Marquez taking the flag with his hands in the air five-seconds behind them.

Marquez ran to his fans club holding a huge number 1 during the slow down lap celebrations.

Marquez, who hadn't won a grand prix before this season, took ten victories from the 17 races this season, compared with three for Terol and Espargaro and one for Smith.

Smith's win was the first for a non-Spanish rider since Catalunya 2009.

Marquez and Espargaro are expected to join Smith in Moto2 next year, while Terol is staying with Aspar for the final season of 125cc racing before the new Moto3 class is introduced.

Race results - Valencia:

1. Smith (Aprilia) 24 laps
2. Espargaro (Derbi) +2.786s
3. Terol (Aprilia) +3.149s
4. Marquez (Derbi) +8.326s
5. Cortese (Derbi) +24.375s
6. Rabat (Aprilia) +26.743s
7. Koyama (Aprilia) +26.823s
8. Vazquez (Derbi) +27.634s
9. Krummenacher (Aprilia) +41.211s
10. Salom (Aprilia) +41.279s

16. Webb (Aprilia) +1m 27.614s
21. Mackenzie (Honda) +1 lap
22. McPhee (Honda) +1 lap
Kent (Lambretta) DNF



Loading Comments...