Spanish MotoGP, Jerez - Free Practice (3) Results
Pos RiderNatTeamTime/DiffLapMax
1^2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)1'36.782s12/16298k
2˅1Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.067s16/21294k
3^2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)+0.117s14/19293k
4^15Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.143s18/20294k
5^4Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.193s14/16295k
6˅4Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)+0.194s17/18298k
7^6Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+0.277s13/16293k
8^4Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.278s19/21293k
9˅5Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.292s20/20296k
10=Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)+0.342s19/21298k
11^7Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*+0.419s18/20298k
12˅1Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)+0.448s19/20298k
13˅5Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)+0.511s21/21294k
14˅8Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.532s16/18294k
15˅1Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)+0.533s16/18292k
16˅1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)+0.712s19/19293k
17˅10Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)+0.848s6/18298k
18˅1Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)+0.860s19/20293k
19^1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)+0.949s15/20290k
20^1Fabio Di GiannantonioITAGresini Ducati (GP21)*+1.098s16/20297k
21^1Stefan BradlGERTeam HRC (RC213V)+1.231s14/16296k
22^1Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*+1.313s18/18292k
23^2Lorenzo SavadoriITAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)+1.425s15/17293k
24˅8Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)+1.455s7/14294k
25˅1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*+1.456s18/19290k

^X Rider is X positions higher than FP2.
= Rider is same position as FP2.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than FP2.

* Rookie
Fastest Friday time:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.071s

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 36.584s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.770s (2021)

Francesco Bagnaia leads Free Practice 3 for the Spanish MotoGP at Jerez, while joint title leader Alex Rins and Portimao podium finisher Johann Zarco are among those that miss out on the top ten and will have to try and fight their way through Qualifying 1.

Fabio Quartararo remained fastest on the combined timesheets for most of the session, courtesy of his 1m 37.071s in FP2. The Frenchman, who will seeking his second win in a week after taking victory and the world championship lead in Portimao, putting a race distance on the medium rear tyre before joining his rivals on new soft rear rubber in the final 15mins.

Ducati's Bagnaia hit the top while Quartararo was completing his first flying lap, the Frenchman then running wide after 'red' first sectors. Bagnaia, still without a podium this season and riding with a sore shoulder from Portimao, ultimately kept P1 ahead of Quartararo to the flag with Jerez specialist Takaaki Nakagami third for LCR Honda.

After a dramatic opening day, including two falls in one lap, Marc Marquez languished down in 15th as the final five minutes began. The eight-time world champion - who had tried some extreme bike changes on Friday, which didn't pay off - looked far from comfortable on his RC213V this morning.

Heavily criticised for shadowing Aleix Espargaro in FP2, Marquez picked Jack Miller (12th and therefore also certain to push hard) to follow out of the pits for his final run. The tactic worked, Miller climbing to seventh (which eventually became ninth) and Marquez fourth.

In bigger trouble was joint world championship leader Rins, who had a fast lap cancelled by yellow flags - several riders falling, including Honda riders Stefan Bradl, Pol Espargaro and Alex Marquez - meaning an all-or-nothing final lap for the Suzuki star. Rins delivered his best lap at the end, but it was only good enough for 13th.

Riders directly to Qualifying 2 - Top 10 Combined Practice Times:
1Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)
2Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
3Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)
4Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)
5Maverick VinalesSPAAprilia Factory (RS-GP)
6Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)
7Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Factory (RS-GP)
8Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
9Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)
10Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)

Tech3 KTM's Raul Fernandez, ruled out of last Sunday's Portimao round due to a right-hand injury in qualifying, has also been declared unfit for Jerez.

Factory test riders Stefan Bradl (Honda) and Lorenzo Savadori (Aprilia) are making wild-card card appearances this weekend, ahead of Monday's official test.

After third place for Aleix Espargaro in Portimao, one more podium finish for the RS-GP will mean Aprilia lose technical concessions.

Quartararo looked set for a comfortable victory at Jerez last season, only to fade from the lead with arm pump problems (for which he then underwent surgery) handing Ducati a one-two with Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia.

Franco Morbidelli completed the podium in third last year, taking what would be the final rostrum for Petronas Yamaha SRT.

Spanish MotoGP schedule – UK Time

Friday April 29

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 1

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 1

9.55-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 1

12.15-12.55pm - Moto3 Free Practice 2

1.10-1.55pm - MotoGP Free Practice 2

2.10pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Free Practice 2


Saturday April 30

8.00-8.40am - Moto3 Free Practice 3

8.55-9.40am - MotoGP Free Practice 3

9.55am-10.35am - Moto2 Free Practice 3

11.35am-11.50am - Moto3 Qualifying 1

12-12.15pm - Moto3 Qualifying 2

12.30-1pm - MotoGP Free Practice 4

1.10-1.25pm - MotoGP Qualifying 1

1.35-1.50pm - MotoGP Qualifying 2

2.10-2.25pm - Moto2 Qualifying 1

2.35pm-2.50pm - Moto2 Qualifying 2


Sunday May 1

8.00-8.10am - Moto3 warm-up

8.20-8.30am - Moto2 warm-up

8.40-9am - MotoGP warm-up

10am - Moto3 race

11.20am - Moto2 race

1pm - MotoGP race

Portugal: MotoGP World Championship standings
Pos RiderNatTeamPointsDiff.
1^4Fabio QuartararoFRAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)69 
2=Alex RinsSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)69(0)
3=Aleix EspargaroSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)66(-3)
4˅3Enea BastianiniITAGresini Ducati (GP21)61(-8)
5^3Johann ZarcoFRAPramac Ducati (GP22)51(-18)
6˅2Joan MirSPASuzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)46(-23)
7˅1Brad BinderRSARed Bull KTM (RC16)42(-27)
8^1Miguel OliveiraPORRed Bull KTM (RC16)39(-30)
9˅2Jack MillerAUSDucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
10^2Francesco BagnaiaITADucati Lenovo (GP22)31(-38)
11^2Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)31(-38)
12=Pol EspargaroSPARepsol Honda (RC213V)30(-39)
13˅3Jorge MartinSPAPramac Ducati (GP22)28(-41)
14=Maverick ViñalesSPAAprilia Racing (RS-GP)25(-44)
15=Franco MorbidelliITAMonster Yamaha (YZR-M1)17(-52)
16^1Luca MariniITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP22)14(-55)
17^2Alex MarquezSPALCR Honda (RC213V)13(-56)
18˅2Takaaki NakagamiJPNLCR Honda (RC213V)12(-57)
19˅1Marco BezzecchiITAMooney VR46 Ducati (GP21)*8(-61)
20^1Andrea DoviziosoITAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)8(-61)
21˅1Darryn BinderRSAWithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)*6(-63)
22=Remy GardnerAUSKTM Tech3 (RC16)*3(-66)