Thursday marked the opening day of the final 2018 MotoGP pre-season test, in Qatar.

With the season-opening grand prix weekend - to be held at the same Losail circuit on March 16-18 - featuring an earlier track schedule this year, testing takes place from 1-9pm over the three days.

CLICK HERE for live updates...

  1. = Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 55.053s [Lap 50/64]
  2. ^1 Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 55.104s +0.051s [44/48]
  3. ^3 Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.107s +0.054s [51/58]
  4. ˅2 Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 1m 55.186s +0.133s [48/52]
  5. ˅1 Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 1m 55.423s +0.370s [27/55]
  6. ^7 Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m 55.432s +0.379s [66/67]
  7. ˅2 Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m 55.432s +0.379s [38/54]
  8. ˅1 Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 1m 55.528s +0.475s [43/47]
  9. ˅1 Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.536s +0.483s [27/45]
  10. ˅1 Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.545s +0.492s [26/47]
  11. ˅1 Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m 55.555s +0.502s [31/37]
  12. ˅1 Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) 1m 55.688s +0.635s [43/44]
  13. ^1 Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 1m 55.848s +0.795s [52/53]
  14. ^6 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* 1m 55.853s +0.800s [62/64]
  15. ˅3 Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m 55.931s +0.878s [34/45]
  16. = Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) 1m 56.029s +0.976s [67/69]
  17. ˅2 Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 2m 56.062s +61.009s [50/50]
  18. ^1 Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 2m 56.268s +61.215s [50/54]
  19. ˅2 Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.275s +1.222s [31/56]
  20. ˅2 Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 1m 56.421s +1.368s [52/64]
  21. = Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 56.608s +1.555s [28/60]
  22. = Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* 1m 56.731s +1.678s [27/58]
  23. = Tom Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* 1m 57.292s +2.239s [56/64]
  24. = Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* 1m 57.713s +2.660s [42/47]

* Rookie

^X Rider is X positions higher than end of previous hour.
= Rider is same position as end of previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than end of previous hour.

Official Qatar MotoGP records:
Pole Position:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 53.927s (2008)
Fastest race lap:
Jorge Lorenzo SPA Yamaha 1m 54.927s (2016)

By Peter McLaren